Test optional is shrinking
After the test optional wave of 2020, more selective colleges now require the SAT or ACT again, and several have announced requirements that start in the next two years. At the same time, most liberal arts colleges and many public flagships remain test optional, and a few systems ignore scores entirely.
Use the filters to see which colleges require scores, which require them only in some cases, and which have announced a future change. Open Details for exceptions, superscoring, scholarship use and the official source.
Fall 2027 snapshot: 31 colleges in this list require the SAT or ACT and 13 more require it with conditions. Yale drops AP and IB as alternatives this cycle. Princeton, Columbia, Notre Dame and Claremont McKenna switch to required for fall 2028, and Vanderbilt for fall 2029.
Search
Fall 2027 policy Any Test required Required, with conditions Test optional Test free
Type Any Private university Liberal arts college Public university
State Any
Future change Any Announced
Reset
136 colleges shownClick any column header to sort
College ↕
State ↕
Type ↕
Fall 2027 policy ↕
Announced change ↕
Amherst College Details
MA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, highest in each section including ACT legacy and enhanced
Arizona State University Details
AZ
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Not required; aptitude met by top 25% rank OR 3.00 competency GPA OR ACT 22/SAT 1120 (24/1180 nonresident)
Auburn University Details
AL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
All first-year applicants must have ACT or SAT on file
Scores and scholarships
Yes, scores maximize scholarship opportunity; some scholarships require scores
Policy timing
Fall 2027 entry (announced Oct 2025)
Augusta University Details
GA
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT or ACT required; minimums SAT 480 RW/440 M or ACT 17/17
Policy timing
2026-27 academic year
Barnard College Details
NY
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Bates College Details
ME
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Binghamton University (SUNY) Details
NY
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Boston College Details
MA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Boston University Details
MA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Bowdoin College Details
ME
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Brandeis University Details
MA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Brown University Details
RI
Private university
Test required
None announced
Superscore
Yes, superscores SAT, ACT or both
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2025 (2024-25 cycle)
California Institute of Technology Details
CA
Private university
Test required
None announced
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2025 (announced April 11, 2024)
California State University (all 23 campuses) Details
CA
Public university
Test free
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
CSU no longer uses ACT or SAT to determine admission eligibility
Policy timing
Trustees vote to amend Title 5, 2022
Carleton College Details
MN
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science requires SAT or ACT; Engineering, Dietrich, Mellon College of Science, Tepper, Hein… Details
PA
Private university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
School of Computer Science requires SAT or ACT; Engineering, Dietrich, Mellon College of Science, Tepper, Heinz IS are test flexible (SAT, ACT, AP, IB, A-Level or French Bac); College of Fine Arts test optional
Superscore
SAT yes; ACT superscores not accepted
Policy timing
Tiered policy starting fall 2026 (provost announcement Aug 29, 2024)
Case Western Reserve University Details
OH
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Claremont McKenna College Details
CA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
Required from fall 2028
Conditions and exceptions
Contact admissions about test access concerns
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2028
Clemson University Details
SC
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Colby College Details
ME
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both including ACT section retests
Colgate University Details
NY
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Columbia University (Columbia College and Columbia Engineering) Details
NY
Private university
Test optional
Required from fall 2028
Conditions and exceptions
Waiver process referenced for the future requirement
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2028 (2027-28 cycle)
Cornell University Details
NY
Private university
Test required
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both (highest SAT sections, Score Choice; ACT superscore and highest sections)
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2026
Dartmouth College Students at high schools outside the US may use 3 AP exams, IB Diploma scores, A-Levels or national exams (WAS… Details
NH
Private university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Students at high schools outside the US may use 3 AP exams, IB Diploma scores, A-Levels or national exams (WASSCE, CBSE, ICSE, etc.) instead of SAT/ACT
Superscore
Yes, automatic superscoring of both
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2025 (Class of 2029)
Davidson College Details
NC
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Duke University Details
NC
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Emory University Details
GA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both (highest SAT sections; ACT composite from best subject scores)
Florida A&M University Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
Florida Atlantic University Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
ACT, SAT or CLT required per BOG 6.002
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002
Florida Gulf Coast University Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
Florida International University Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT, ACT and/or CLT required per BOG 6.002
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002
Florida Polytechnic University Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
Florida State University Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
Georgetown University Details
DC
Private university
Test required
None announced
Superscore
No, does not accept superscores; requires at least one full SAT or ACT
Policy timing
Long-standing (never went test optional)
Georgia College & State University Details
GA
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT, ACT or CLT required
Policy timing
Required throughout; waiver never applied
Georgia Institute of Technology Details
GA
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
At least one SAT and/or ACT required; CLT not accepted as substitute
Policy timing
Required throughout; waiver never applied
Georgia Southern University Required for traditional admission at Statesboro and Armstrong; not required for University College flexible a… Details
GA
Public university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Required for traditional admission at Statesboro and Armstrong; not required for University College flexible admission (East Georgia, Statesboro Center, Liberty)
Policy timing
2026-27 academic year
Georgia State University Details
GA
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Required for Atlanta campus bachelor's admission; Perimeter College is the alternative
Scores and scholarships
Yes, required for merit scholarships (not used for Stamps and Presidential finalists)
Policy timing
Fall 2026
Grinnell College Details
IA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Hamilton College Details
NY
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Harvard University SAT or ACT required; in exceptional cases when those tests are not accessible, AP, IB (actual or predicted), G… Details
MA
Private university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT or ACT required; in exceptional cases when those tests are not accessible, AP, IB (actual or predicted), GCSE/A-Level (actual or predicted) or externally assessed national leaving exams can meet the requirement
Superscore
Score Choice allowed; for ACT evaluates highest composite plus other scores shared; no explicit superscore statement
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2025 (per Harvard Gazette, April 2024)
Harvey Mudd College Details
CA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
No superscoring; considers scores applicant chooses to submit
Haverford College Details
PA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Indiana University Bloomington Details
IN
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Campus prefers scores be shared
Scores and scholarships
Merit scholarships available with or without scores
Iowa State University Details
IA
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Without scores, admission based on HS GPA and core courses
Johns Hopkins University Details
MD
Private university
Test required
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both (highest section scores across dates)
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2026 (JHU Hub, Aug 16, 2024)
Kennesaw State University Details
GA
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT, ACT or CLT required; fall 2027 minimum GPA 3.0; architecture has higher math minimums
Scores and scholarships
Yes, Flight to Excellence out-of-state waiver considers grades and test scores
Policy timing
2026-27 academic year
Lehigh University Details
PA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Louisiana State University ACT or SAT required if GPA below 3.5; optional at 3.5+ Details
LA
Public university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
ACT or SAT required if GPA below 3.5; optional at 3.5+
Scores and scholarships
Yes, considered in holistic merit review
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Details
MA
Private university
Test required
None announced
Superscore
Yes, highest score in each section for either test
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2023 (Class of 2027, announced March 28, 2022)
Middlebury College Details
VT
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Mississippi State University Residents: no test with CPC and 3.20 GPA, otherwise ACT/SAT path; nonresidents: 2.50 GPA or ACT/SAT 20+ Details
MS
Public university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Residents: no test with CPC and 3.20 GPA, otherwise ACT/SAT path; nonresidents: 2.50 GPA or ACT/SAT 20+
Scores and scholarships
Yes, encouraged for scholarships and placement
Policy timing
AOP 12.29 approved Nov 27, 2023
New College of Florida Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
New York University Details
NY
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Accepts 3 AP, IB Diploma, A-Levels, national exams as alternatives
Superscore
Yes, both
Northeastern University Details
MA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Northwestern University Details
IL
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
SAT and ACT superscored per older FAQ; 2026-27 catalog says it will not calculate a separate ACT superscore but accepts the official ACT superscore
Penn State University Park Details
PA
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Accelerated Premedical-Medical program requires scores
Pomona College Details
CA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Princeton University Details
NJ
Private university
Test optional
Required from fall 2028
Conditions and exceptions
N/A for fall 2027; for fall 2028 active military personnel are exempt
Superscore
SAT Score Choice permitted; ACT highest composite only; no superscoring across paper and digital formats
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2028 (2027-28 cycle)
Purdue University Details
IN
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Purdue expects SAT, ACT or CLT; application allowed in exceptional cases where applicant could not test
Scores and scholarships
Yes, test before Nov 1 EA for scholarship consideration
Rice University Details
TX
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, highest score from each section across administrations
Rutgers University-New Brunswick Details
NJ
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Newark test blind for most; Camden optional; BS/DO and BA/MD require scores
Scores and scholarships
Scores submitted after admission may be used for honors and merit
Policy timing
Through 2027
Smith College Details
MA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Stanford University Details
CA
Private university
Test required
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both (highest SAT sections; ACT superscore composite)
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2026 (page says scores were optional for Class of 2029)
Stony Brook University (SUNY) Details
NY
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Scores required for Scholars for Medicine and Dental Medicine
Swarthmore College Details
PA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
IB Diploma candidates must submit IB scores
Superscore
SAT yes; ACT no (highest single-date composite)
Texas A&M University Details
TX
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Top 10% non-traditional Texans need SAT 1290/ACT 27 from fall 2027
The Ohio State University (Columbus) Details
OH
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Columbus campus only; exempt if out of HS 2+ years; regional campuses and ATI do not consider scores
Policy timing
Autumn 2026 (announced Mar 12, 2025)
Tufts University Details
MA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Tulane University Details
LA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Scores required for invitation-only Pathways to Medicine program
Superscore
Yes, both
UNC System (all 16 universities) SAT or ACT required if weighted GPA 2.5 to below 2.8; optional at 2.8+ Details
NC
Public university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT or ACT required if weighted GPA 2.5 to below 2.8; optional at 2.8+
Policy timing
Fall 2025 (BOG approved May 23, 2024)
University at Buffalo (SUNY) Details
NY
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Scores and scholarships
Not required; all complete apps reviewed for merit
University of Alabama Fall 2027: ACT or SAT required only if cumulative HS GPA below 3.0; required for all applicants from fall 2028… Details
AL
Public university
Required, with conditions
All applicants from fall 2028
Conditions and exceptions
Fall 2027: ACT or SAT required only if cumulative HS GPA below 3.0; required for all applicants from fall 2028 (applying Aug 2027)
Policy timing
Fall 2027 entry (announced Dec 18, 2025)
University of Alabama at Birmingham Fall 2027: required if cumulative HS GPA below 3.5; required for all from fall 2028 Details
AL
Public university
Required, with conditions
All applicants from fall 2028
Conditions and exceptions
Fall 2027: required if cumulative HS GPA below 3.5; required for all from fall 2028
Policy timing
Fall 2027 entry (announced Dec 18, 2025)
University of Arizona Details
AZ
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Not required for general admission; scores may be used for placement or to meet core competency requirements
University of Arkansas Test optional only with GPA 3.2 or higher; below 3.2 scores required Details
AR
Public university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Test optional only with GPA 3.2 or higher; below 3.2 scores required
Scores and scholarships
Yes, required for most scholarships and for Arkansas Academic Challenge and Governor's Distinguished scholarships
University of California (all undergraduate campuses incl. UC Berkeley, UCLA) Details
CA
Public university
Test free
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT/ACT not considered for admission or scholarships; may be used for minimum eligibility or course placement
Scores and scholarships
No
Policy timing
Regents vote May 2020
University of Central Florida Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
University of Colorado Boulder Details
CO
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Not required; self-reported scores considered if provided
University of Connecticut Details
CT
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Test optional for the foreseeable future
University of Delaware Details
DE
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
All applicants choose whether to submit
Scores and scholarships
Reviewed for merit awards and Honors College with or without scores
University of Florida Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT, ACT and/or CLT required (BOG Reg 6.002); early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
University of Georgia Details
GA
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
SAT or ACT required for all first-year applicants; CLT NOT accepted as SAT substitute
Policy timing
Required throughout; USG temporary waiver never applied to UGA
University of Hawaii at Manoa Details
HI
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Do No Harm: harmful scores excluded; Hawaii residents with 3.2 GPA and required courses offered admission
Scores and scholarships
Some scholarships and direct-entry programs may require scores
University of Idaho Details
ID
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Summer 2027 onward: GPA 2.6+ direct admission; 2.30 to 2.59 via Vandal Gateway; ISAT path for residents
Scores and scholarships
Not required for WUE, Invitation to Idaho, Go Idaho
Policy timing
Summer 2027 criteria
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Details
IL
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Optional for all first-year applicants and all majors
University of Iowa Details
IA
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
No harm policy: scores used only if they help
Scores and scholarships
Yes, reviewed with and without scores; best offer given
University of Kansas Details
KS
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Assured admission with GPA 3.25+, or ACT 21/SAT 1060 with GPA 2.0+; others reviewed individually
Scores and scholarships
Not stated (National Merit can raise offer)
University of Kentucky Details
KY
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Optional for admission and scholarships
Scores and scholarships
Test optional for scholarships
Policy timing
Through 2028-29
University of Maine Details
ME
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Scores optional
University of Maryland, College Park Details
MD
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Scores and scholarships
Merit scholarship and special program review also test optional
Policy timing
Extended through fall 2027
University of Miami Test optional for Frost School of Music performance programs, BFA programs, School of Architecture, and intern… Details
FL
Private university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Test optional for Frost School of Music performance programs, BFA programs, School of Architecture, and international secondary school graduates
Superscore
Not stated; enter scores exactly as received
University of Michigan Details
MI
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Policy timing
Continuing for 2027 cycle; reviewed ongoing
University of Minnesota Twin Cities Details
MN
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Temporary policy through fall 2027
Scores and scholarships
Full consideration for scholarships and Honors without scores
Policy timing
Through fall 2027
University of Mississippi Details
MS
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Residents not required; nonresidents optional with 3.2 unweighted GPA, strongly recommended below 3.2
University of Missouri Details
MO
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Homeschooled and non-accredited school students must submit scores
Scores and scholarships
Holistic without scores; scores may unlock more scholarships and help Honors
University of Montana Details
MT
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Admission if one of: 2.5 GPA, ACT 22, SAT 1120, upper half rank
Scores and scholarships
Not stated; Davidson Honors College may require scores
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Details
NE
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Guaranteed with core courses plus one of: 3.0 GPA, ACT 20, SAT 1040, top half
Scores and scholarships
Yes, best award from GPA alone or GPA plus score
University of Nevada, Reno Details
NV
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Not required; 3.0 weighted core GPA required
Scores and scholarships
Yes, required for most first-year scholarships
University of New Hampshire Details
NH
Public university
Test optional
None announced
University of New Mexico Details
NM
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
ACT, SAT or CLT not required
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Weighted GPA below 2.8 must submit ACT 17+ or SAT 930+; optional at 2.8+ Details
NC
Public university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Weighted GPA below 2.8 must submit ACT 17+ or SAT 930+; optional at 2.8+
Policy timing
2026-27 academic year and beyond
University of North Dakota Details
ND
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Not required; 2.75 GPA recommended
University of North Florida Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
University of Notre Dame Details
IN
Private university
Test optional
Required from fall 2028
Conditions and exceptions
Future requirement allows waivers for hardship, lack of access, disaster; international may use IB, A-Level, French Bac predicted
Superscore
Yes, highest score in each section
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2028 (2027-28 cycle)
University of Oklahoma Details
OK
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
No-score students take placement exams
Scores and scholarships
Yes, scholarship tiers with score requirements start at ACT 24/SAT 1160
University of Oregon Details
OR
Public university
Test optional
None announced
University of Pennsylvania Testing waiver for applicants who have not tested and face hardship (lack of test center availability, financi… Details
PA
Private university
Required, with conditions
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Testing waiver for applicants who have not tested and face hardship (lack of test center availability, financial hardship, natural disaster or civil unrest); anyone who has tested must submit scores
Superscore
Yes, both (highest SAT sections; highest ACT English, Math, Reading)
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2026 (2025-26 cycle)
University of Rhode Island Details
RI
Public university
Test optional
None announced
University of Rochester Details
NY
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Accepts AP, IB, A-Level, national exams as alternatives
Superscore
Yes, both (no SAT/ACT hybrid)
University of South Carolina (Columbia) Details
SC
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Scores and scholarships
Test optional also applies to Honors College and admissions merit scholarships
University of South Dakota Details
SD
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Meet one of: 2.6 GPA, top 50%, ACT 21/SAT 1070, state assessment 3+
University of South Florida Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
University of Southern California Details
CA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Records the highest scores from tests taken more than once (section vs composite not specified)
University of Tennessee, Knoxville Details
TN
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Self-report ACT or SAT by Jan 20, 2027; official by May 15, 2027; ACT Science not required
Scores and scholarships
Yes, superscore used for institutional merit scholarships; Honors consideration
University of Texas at Austin Details
TX
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Required for all freshman applicants; auto admit top 5% for summer/fall 2027; non-traditional auto admit needs SAT 1570/ACT 36
Policy timing
Fall 2025 (announced Mar 11, 2024)
University of Utah Details
UT
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Required for homeschool, GED/HiSET, non-accredited HS grads
Scores and scholarships
No, merit scholarships and Honors do not require scores
University of Vermont Details
VT
Public university
Test optional
None announced
University of Virginia Details
VA
Public university
Test optional
None announced
University of Washington (Seattle) Details
WA
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Permanently removed; high scores (1400/31+) may help a handful; homeschool must submit
Scores and scholarships
No, admissions scholarships do not consider scores
Policy timing
Permanent (June 2020)
University of West Florida Details
FL
Public university
Test required
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
FTIC applicants must submit SAT, ACT or CLT; early admission students exempt
Policy timing
BOG Reg 6.002 (last amended Sep 8, 2023)
University of Wisconsin-Madison Details
WI
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Regents waiver through spring 2028
Scores and scholarships
Not required but may be used if provided
Policy timing
Through spring 2028
University of Wyoming Details
WY
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Assured admission 3.0+ GPA; 2.50 to 2.99 admitted with support; GED under 21 must submit
Scores and scholarships
Yes, scores can secure higher awards
Vanderbilt University Details
TN
Private university
Test optional
Required from fall 2029
Superscore
Yes, both
Policy timing
Required starting fall 2029
Vassar College Details
NY
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, highest section scores
Villanova University Details
PA
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Homeschooled more than one full year must submit scores
Superscore
Yes, both
Virginia Tech Details
VA
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Scores and scholarships
Eligible for scholarships without scores
Policy timing
Through fall 2028
Wake Forest University Details
NC
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Washington State University Details
WA
Public university
Test free
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
Scores not required and not used in admission decisions
Policy timing
March 2021
Washington University in St. Louis Details
MO
Private university
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Wellesley College Details
MA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Wesleyan University Details
CT
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
West Virginia University Details
WV
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Conditions and exceptions
A few majors and scholarships require scores
Scores and scholarships
Yes, some scholarships require scores
William & Mary Details
VA
Public university
Test optional
None announced
Scores and scholarships
All applicants considered for merit with or without scores
Policy timing
Extended indefinitely (Mar 2023)
Williams College Details
MA
Liberal arts college
Test optional
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both
Yale University Details
CT
Private university
Test required
None announced
Superscore
Yes, both; may report highest section scores or ACT composite across administrations
Policy timing
Tests required since fall 2025 under test flexible; SAT/ACT only starting fall 2027 (2026-27 cycle)
Required, with conditions means scores are required for some applicants (for example below a GPA threshold, for certain colleges within a university, or with hardship exceptions). Test free means scores are not used in admission decisions.
Quick answers
Which colleges require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027?
Among private colleges, Harvard, Yale, Penn, Brown, Dartmouth, Cornell, MIT, Stanford, Caltech, Johns Hopkins, Georgetown, Carnegie Mellon (for most colleges) and the University of Miami require scores, some with narrow exceptions. Among public universities, the University of Georgia, Georgia Tech, Georgia State, Augusta, Kennesaw State and Georgia College, all 12 Florida public universities, UT Austin, Ohio State (Columbus), Tennessee Knoxville, Auburn and Purdue require them.
Which Ivy League schools require test scores for fall 2027?
Harvard, Yale, Penn, Brown, Dartmouth and Cornell require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027. Princeton and Columbia remain test optional for fall 2027 but will require scores starting with fall 2028 applicants.
Is Yale still test flexible?
No. Starting with applicants for fall 2027, Yale requires the SAT or ACT. AP and IB scores no longer satisfy the testing requirement.
Which colleges are bringing back test requirements after fall 2027?
Princeton, Columbia, Notre Dame and Claremont McKenna will require scores for fall 2028 applicants, and Vanderbilt for fall 2029. The University of Alabama and UAB will require scores from all applicants starting fall 2028.
Which public universities require scores only below a certain GPA?
The UNC System requires scores below a 2.8 weighted GPA, the University of Alabama below 3.0, LSU and UAB below 3.5, and Arkansas below 3.2. Mississippi State uses GPA thresholds that differ for residents and nonresidents.
Are any colleges test blind?
The University of California and California State University systems and Washington State University do not use SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions.
Should I send scores to a test optional college?
Our advice is to submit when your score is at or above the school’s middle 50 percent range, ideally near the 75th percentile. Several test optional publics, including Arkansas, Nevada, Oklahoma and Georgia State, still use scores for merit scholarships, so a strong score can pay off even where it is optional.
Need a score that opens more doors?
With more colleges requiring the SAT or ACT, a strong score matters again. ConnectPrep’s tutors target the 75th percentile of your list, and we help you choose between the SAT and the ACT . Check upcoming SAT and ACT test dates .
Compare the SAT and ACT →
Methodology & sources
Every policy was read on the college’s own admissions page or state system regulation on September 26 and 27, 2026, and each row links to the page we used. Several official pages do not name the fall 2027 cycle; in those cases we recorded the current standing policy. We did not rely on third party lists, several of which label Duke, Emory, Northwestern, WashU, Villanova and Columbia as test required for fall 2027 when their official pages say test optional.
Not included yet because we could not confirm them on official pages: the University of Chicago, UMass Amherst and the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Policies change often, so confirm with each college before you apply.
Have a correction? Email info@connectprep.com .
This is a ConnectPrep page. It is researched and published by ConnectPrep, an independent tutoring, test prep and admissions advising company based in Westport, Connecticut. ConnectPrep is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the colleges listed, the College Board or ACT. Information is checked against official sources as of the date shown, but policies change, so always confirm details directly before you apply or register.