College Admissions · ACT · 2026-27
Which Colleges Require ACT Science? The 2026-27 List
The ACT Science section is now optional. We checked the official admissions pages of 136 selective and flagship colleges to see which ones still want it, which recommend it, and how each treats a Science score.
The short answer
Almost none. Of the 133 colleges we checked that use test scores, only Pomona College asks for ACT Science, and only from students who choose to submit the ACT. Duke and Georgetown recommend it, especially for STEM. 61 colleges say outright that Science is not required, including every Ivy, MIT, Stanford and Caltech, and the other 69 do not address it on the admissions pages we checked. No college we checked that requires testing for fall 2027 requires Science.
1
college requires Science (Pomona, for ACT submitters)
2
recommend it: Duke and Georgetown
61
say explicitly it is not required
+40 min
and $5 to add Science to the ACT
The short answer
Quick answer
No college on our list of 133 requires ACT Science of every applicant. Pomona requires it only if you submit the ACT, Duke and Georgetown recommend it, and the rest either say it is not required or do not address it.
ACT Science policies at the colleges we checked
133 colleges that use test scores, official admissions pages, October 2026
Required: 1. Recommended: 2. Not required: 61. Not stated: 69. Three test free systems (University of California, Cal State, Washington State) are excluded.
The pattern is the same at schools that require testing. Of the 44 colleges on our list that require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027, in full or with conditions, 27 explicitly say Science is not required, Georgetown recommends it, and none require it.
See which colleges require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027 →
What changed on the ACT
ACT rolled out its enhanced test in stages. It became available for online national testing in April 2025, on paper for national Saturday testing in September 2025, and for state and district school day testing in spring 2026. Science became optional at each step.
| Section | Questions | Time | In the Composite? |
|---|---|---|---|
| English | 50 | 35 min | Yes |
| Math | 45 | 50 min | Yes |
| Reading | 36 | 40 min | Yes |
| Science (optional) | 40 | 40 min | No |
| Total without Science | 131 | 125 min | |
| Total with Science | 171 | 165 min |
Source: ACT, Enhanced ACT FAQs. Writing remains a separate optional section.
- Composite: the average of English, Math and Reading. Science no longer counts toward it.
- If you take Science: you also get a Science score and a STEM score, reported separately.
- Cost: $70 for the core ACT and $75 with Science on ACT’s current fee schedule.
- Superscoring: ACT lets your best section scores come from any test date, old or new version. Colleges still set their own rules.
The 3 colleges that ask for ACT Science
Pomona College: required for ACT submitters
Pomona is test optional, but if you choose to send the ACT it requires the core ACT plus Science, noting that its application offers chances to show writing but no equivalent for science. It superscores across both versions of the ACT.
Duke University: encouraged
Duke is test optional for 2026-27 and encourages ACT takers to include Science, especially for STEM interests. A Science score is considered as additional information but is not required.
Georgetown University: highly recommended
Georgetown requires the SAT or ACT, highly recommends the Science section for students planning to major in the sciences, and does not accept superscores.
Everyone else
61 colleges state that Science is optional or not required, and 69 do not mention it on the admissions pages we checked. If a college on your list is in the second group and you are unsure, ask its admissions office directly.
Full list: ACT Science policy at 136 colleges
Colleges are listed alphabetically. Each name links to the official page we used. “Not stated” means we did not find a statement about ACT Science on the college’s official admissions and testing pages; it does not mean Science is required.
| College | State | Fall 2027 testing | ACT Science | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amherst College | MA | Test optional | Not required | Superscores across legacy and enhanced ACT |
| Arizona State University | AZ | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Auburn University | AL | Required | Not stated | ACT or SAT required beginning fall 2027 |
| Augusta University | GA | Required | Not stated | Minimums listed for English or Reading and Math only |
| Barnard College | NY | Test optional | Not required | Reviews Science if submitted |
| Bates College | ME | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Binghamton University (SUNY) | NY | Test optional | Not required | |
| Boston College | MA | Test optional | Not required | Science not used in the superscore |
| Boston University | MA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Bowdoin College | ME | Test optional | Not required | Considers Science if submitted |
| Brandeis University | MA | Test optional | Not required | |
| Brown University | RI | Required | Not required | |
| California Institute of Technology | CA | Required | Not required | |
| California State University (all campuses) | CA | Test free | Not used (test free) | |
| Carleton College | MN | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Carnegie Mellon University | PA | Required with conditions | Not stated | Does not accept ACT superscores |
| Case Western Reserve University | OH | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Claremont McKenna College | CA | Test optional | Not required | |
| Clemson University | SC | Test optional | Not required | Science not factored into the superscore |
| Colby College | ME | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Colgate University | NY | Test optional | Not required | Science reported separately from the composite |
| Columbia University | NY | Test optional | Not required | Calculates superscore with and without Science, uses the higher |
| Cornell University | NY | Required | Not required | |
| Dartmouth College | NH | Required with conditions | Not required | Superscore uses English, Math and Reading only |
| Davidson College | NC | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Duke University | NC | Test optional | Recommended | Encouraged, especially for STEM applicants |
| Emory University | GA | Test optional | Not required | Accepts Classic ACT and Core ACT |
| Florida A&M University | FL | Required | Not stated | |
| Florida Atlantic University | FL | Required | Not required | Composite uses English, Math and Reading only |
| Florida Gulf Coast University | FL | Required | Not stated | |
| Florida International University | FL | Required | Not required | Composite uses English, Math and Reading only |
| Florida Polytechnic University | FL | Required | Not required | |
| Florida State University | FL | Required | Not required | |
| Georgetown University | DC | Required | Recommended | Highly recommended, especially for science majors |
| Georgia College & State University | GA | Required | Not stated | Uses ACT English and Math scores |
| Georgia Institute of Technology | GA | Required | Not required | Does not use the Science section |
| Georgia Southern University | GA | Required with conditions | Not stated | Minimums listed for English or Reading and Math only |
| Georgia State University | GA | Required | Not stated | Minimums listed for English or Reading and Math only |
| Grinnell College | IA | Test optional | Not required | |
| Hamilton College | NY | Test optional | Not required | |
| Harvard University | MA | Required with conditions | Not required | Does not superscore across the two ACT versions |
| Harvey Mudd College | CA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Haverford College | PA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Indiana University Bloomington | IN | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Iowa State University | IA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Johns Hopkins University | MD | Required | Not required | Science not considered in superscoring |
| Kennesaw State University | GA | Required | Not stated | Uses English or Reading and Math |
| Lehigh University | PA | Test optional | Not required | If you take Science, report it with the other sections |
| Louisiana State University | LA | Required with conditions | Not stated | |
| Massachusetts Institute of Technology | MA | Required | Not required | |
| Middlebury College | VT | Test optional | Not required | |
| Mississippi State University | MS | Required with conditions | Not required | Superscore is English, Math and Reading only |
| New College of Florida | FL | Required | Not stated | |
| New York University | NY | Test optional | Not required | Accepts the ACT with or without Science |
| Northeastern University | MA | Test optional | Not stated | Only testing FAQ found predates the change |
| Northwestern University | IL | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Penn State University Park | PA | Test optional | Not required | Does not accept Science scores at all |
| Pomona College | CA | Test optional | Required | Test optional, but ACT submitters must include Science |
| Princeton University | NJ | Test optional | Not required | |
| Purdue University | IN | Required | Not required | |
| Rice University | TX | Test optional | Not required | |
| Rutgers University-New Brunswick | NJ | Test optional | Not required | |
| Smith College | MA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Stanford University | CA | Required | Not required | |
| Stony Brook University (SUNY) | NY | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Swarthmore College | PA | Test optional | Not required | If you take Science, it must be included in your composite |
| Texas A&M University | TX | Test optional | Not stated | |
| The Ohio State University | OH | Required | Not required | |
| Tufts University | MA | Test optional | Not required | |
| Tulane University | LA | Test optional | Not required | |
| UNC System (16 universities) | NC | Required with conditions | Not stated | See UNC Chapel Hill for a campus policy |
| University at Buffalo (SUNY) | NY | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Alabama | AL | Required with conditions | Not stated | |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | AL | Required with conditions | Not stated | |
| University of Arizona | AZ | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Arkansas | AR | Required with conditions | Not required | Not required for admission, scholarships or placement |
| University of California (all campuses) | CA | Test free | Not used (test free) | |
| University of Central Florida | FL | Required | Not required | Exams from April 2025 on use English, Math and Reading |
| University of Colorado Boulder | CO | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Connecticut | CT | Test optional | Not required | Science not used in review |
| University of Delaware | DE | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Florida | FL | Required | Not required | Composite uses Reading, English and Math only |
| University of Georgia | GA | Required | Not required | Superscore uses English, Math and Reading |
| University of Hawaii at Manoa | HI | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Idaho | ID | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | IL | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Iowa | IA | Test optional | Not required | Does not superscore |
| University of Kansas | KS | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Kentucky | KY | Test optional | Not required | Accepts the composite with or without Science |
| University of Maine | ME | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Maryland, College Park | MD | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Miami | FL | Required with conditions | Not required | Allows superscoring Classic with Enhanced ACT |
| University of Michigan | MI | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Minnesota Twin Cities | MN | Test optional | Not stated | Does not use ACT superscores |
| University of Mississippi | MS | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Missouri | MO | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Montana | MT | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Nebraska-Lincoln | NE | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Nevada, Reno | NV | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of New Hampshire | NH | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of New Mexico | NM | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | NC | Required with conditions | Not required | Composite uses English, Math and Reading |
| University of North Dakota | ND | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of North Florida | FL | Required | Not required | Uses the composite with Science if it is higher |
| University of Notre Dame | IN | Test optional | Not required | |
| University of Oklahoma | OK | Test optional | Not stated | Superscores by the ACT Enhanced method |
| University of Oregon | OR | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Pennsylvania | PA | Required with conditions | Not required | |
| University of Rhode Island | RI | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Rochester | NY | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of South Carolina | SC | Test optional | Not required | Superscore uses English, Math and Reading only |
| University of South Dakota | SD | Test optional | Not stated | Science subscore of 20+ can satisfy the lab science requirement |
| University of South Florida | FL | Required | Not stated | Minimums listed for Reading, English and Math only |
| University of Southern California | CA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Tennessee, Knoxville | TN | Required | Not required | Science counts only if it raises the superscore |
| University of Texas at Austin | TX | Required | Not required | With or without Science treated equally; no superscore |
| University of Utah | UT | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Vermont | VT | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Virginia | VA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of Washington (Seattle) | WA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| University of West Florida | FL | Required | Not stated | |
| University of Wisconsin-Madison | WI | Test optional | Not stated | Does not superscore |
| University of Wyoming | WY | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Vanderbilt University | TN | Test optional | Not required | Science counts only if it raises the superscore |
| Vassar College | NY | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Villanova University | PA | Test optional | Not required | |
| Virginia Tech | VA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Wake Forest University | NC | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Washington State University | WA | Test free | Not used (test free) | |
| Washington University in St. Louis | MO | Test optional | Not required | |
| Wellesley College | MA | Test optional | Not required | Accepts the new ACT with or without Science |
| Wesleyan University | CT | Test optional | Not stated | |
| West Virginia University | WV | Test optional | Not required | Calculates superscore with and without Science, uses the higher |
| William & Mary | VA | Test optional | Not stated | |
| Williams College | MA | Test optional | Not required | |
| Yale University | CT | Required | Not required |
Checked October 2026 on each college’s official admissions site. Fall 2027 testing policy from ConnectPrep’s test-required colleges list.
How colleges treat a Science score if you send it
Optional does not always mean ignored. When colleges say what they do with a Science score, their approaches fall into five groups.
| What happens to your Science score | Colleges that say so |
|---|---|
| Ignored, composite uses English, Math and Reading | Georgia Tech, Boston College, Clemson, Dartmouth, Johns Hopkins, UConn, Florida, Georgia, FAU, FIU, Mississippi State, South Carolina |
| Calculated both ways, higher score used | Columbia, West Virginia, North Florida, Tennessee, Vanderbilt |
| Included in your composite if you took it | UT Austin (no superscore), Swarthmore (must be included), Lehigh (must be reported) |
| Will not accept a Science score | Penn State |
| Reviewed as extra information | Duke, Barnard, Bowdoin, Georgetown |
Why it matters: at a college that calculates your score both ways, a strong Science score can only help. At UT Austin, Swarthmore or Lehigh, a weak Science score taken on the same day can pull your composite down, so think before adding it on test day.
Superscoring the old ACT with the new ACT
ACT says your highest section scores can come from any test event, whether you took the legacy ACT or the enhanced version. Colleges are split on whether they will combine them.
| Policy | Colleges |
|---|---|
| Superscore across both versions | Pomona, University of Miami, Amherst |
| Will not superscore across versions | Harvard (submit your best single test) |
| Superscore using English, Math and Reading regardless of test date or platform | Dartmouth |
| Do not superscore the ACT at all | Penn State, UT Austin, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Georgetown, Carnegie Mellon |
Special cases: Bright Futures and South Dakota
Florida Bright Futures
The 2026-27 Bright Futures Handbook says the ACT Science section is optional for Bright Futures starting with the 2025-26 graduating class. Students who never took Science get a composite of English, Math and Reading. Students who did take it get two averages, and Bright Futures uses the higher one. At least one Florida university page still says Science is required for Bright Futures, so go by the state handbook. Bright Futures Handbook, Chapter 1
| Award | 2026-27 graduates | 2027-28 graduates |
|---|---|---|
| Florida Academic Scholars | 29 ACT, 95 CLT or 1330 SAT | 29 ACT, 96 CLT or 1350 SAT |
| Florida Medallion Scholars | 24 ACT, 82 CLT or 1190 SAT | 25 ACT, 83 CLT or 1200 SAT |
Minimum test scores for initial eligibility, per the 2026-27 Bright Futures Handbook.
University of South Dakota
South Dakota lists an ACT Science Reasoning score of 20 or higher as one way to satisfy its three year laboratory science course requirement, alongside completing the courses or earning a 3 or higher on an AP science exam. Students short on lab science should take Science. USD admission requirements
Should you take ACT Science?
Take Science if
- Pomona is on your list and you plan to submit the ACT
- You are applying to Duke or Georgetown, especially in STEM
- You are applying in engineering or the sciences and science reasoning is a strength
- Your colleges calculate the score both ways (Columbia, WVU, UNF, Tennessee, Vanderbilt)
- You need it to meet a course alternative such as South Dakota’s
Skip Science if
- None of your colleges require or recommend it
- The extra 40 minutes would wear you down for English, Math or Reading
- You are applying to UT Austin, Swarthmore or Lehigh and Science is your weakest section
- Your time is better spent raising your English, Math and Reading scores, which make up the Composite
Most students should treat the decision as part of test strategy, not an afterthought. A practice test with Science shows quickly whether it would help or hurt you.
ACT tutoring that knows every college’s rules
ConnectPrep tutors build ACT plans around the colleges on your list: whether to add Science, which sections to retake for a superscore, and when the SAT or CLT would serve you better. Sessions are one on one, online or in person, and start with a diagnostic.
- One on one ACT tutoring for English, Math, Reading and Science
- ACT Elite Bootcamp for students targeting 34 to 36
- Test strategy built around your actual college list
- Online nationwide and in person in select markets
Not sure whether to take ACT Science?
Tell us your college list and test dates and we will tell you whether Science helps, hurts or does not matter for you.
We reply within one business day. Your information is only used to respond to your request.
ACT Science FAQ
Is the ACT Science section required?
No. Since April 2025 for online testing and September 2025 for paper national testing, the ACT Science section has been optional, and the ACT Composite is now the average of English, Math and Reading only. ACT leaves it to each college to decide whether to ask for Science.
Which colleges require ACT Science?
Very few. Of the 133 selective and flagship colleges we checked on official admissions pages in October 2026, only Pomona College asks for it: Pomona is test optional, but students who choose to submit the ACT must include Science. Duke and Georgetown recommend it, especially for science and STEM applicants.
Does Duke require ACT Science?
No. Duke is test optional for 2026-27 and says students taking the ACT are encouraged to include the Science section, especially if they are interested in STEM fields. A Science score, if submitted, is considered as additional information.
Does Georgetown require ACT Science?
Georgetown requires the SAT or ACT and highly recommends the ACT Science section, especially for students planning to major in the sciences. It also requires at least one full test and does not accept superscores.
Do Ivy League schools require ACT Science?
No. Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Penn and Yale all state on their admissions sites that the Science section is optional or not required. Princeton also says the Science section of the redesigned ACT is optional.
Does MIT require ACT Science?
No. MIT requires the SAT or ACT but says it does not require the ACT Writing or Science sections. Caltech, Georgia Tech, Johns Hopkins and Stanford, which also require testing, likewise do not require Science.
Is ACT Science part of the composite score now?
No. On the enhanced ACT the Composite is the average of English, Math and Reading. If you take Science you also receive a Science score and a STEM score, reported separately.
Should I take the ACT Science section?
Take it if any college on your list requires or recommends it (Pomona, Duke, Georgetown), if you are applying in STEM, or if science reasoning is a strength, since some colleges such as Columbia and West Virginia University calculate your score with and without Science and use the higher one. Skip it if none of your colleges want it and the extra 40 minutes would hurt your performance on the other sections.
How long is the ACT with Science?
The enhanced ACT is 125 minutes for English, Math and Reading. Adding Science brings it to 165 minutes. Science is 40 questions in 40 minutes.
How much more does ACT Science cost?
On ACT’s current fee schedule the core ACT is $70 and the ACT with Science is $75, so Science adds $5. Writing adds more: $95 with Writing and $100 with Science and Writing.
Can you superscore the old ACT with the new ACT?
ACT says your highest section scores can come from any test event, legacy or enhanced, but colleges decide how they use superscores. Pomona, Miami and Amherst say they superscore across both versions, while Harvard says it will not superscore across the two versions.
Do I need ACT Science for Florida Bright Futures?
No. The 2026-27 Bright Futures Handbook says the ACT Science section is optional starting with the 2025-26 graduating class. Bright Futures averages English, Math and Reading, and if you also took Science it calculates both composites and uses the higher one.
Browse every ConnectPrep test prep and admissions guide →
Sources
- ACT: Enhanced ACT FAQs
- ACT: Test fees
- Florida Bright Futures Handbook 2026-27, Chapter 1
- Pomona College: Paths to apply
- Duke University: Apply
- Georgetown University: How to prepare
- Harvard College: How will you evaluate the new ACT?
- Columbia Undergraduate Admissions: Testing
- Penn State: Test optional FAQ
- UT Austin Admissions: FAQ
- University of South Dakota: How to apply
- Every other college: see the linked official page in the full list above
This is a ConnectPrep resource page. ConnectPrep is an independent tutoring and admissions firm and is not affiliated with ACT or any college listed. College testing policies change; confirm each policy on the college’s own site before you test or apply. Last verified October 4, 2026.

