Admissions, tuition, class sizes and financial aid for 47 accredited independent Waldorf schools, checked on each school’s own website.
Waldorf (Steiner) schools emphasize arts integration, a class teacher who stays with a group for several years, and delayed formal academics in the early grades. This list covers the 47 accredited independent schools whose own websites describe a Waldorf program.
| School ↕ | City ↕ | State ↕ | Type ↕ | Grades | Avg class ↕ | Testing ↕ | Deadline | Profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Bay SchoolWaldorf | Blue Hill | ME | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Berkshire Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Great Barrington | MA | Day | Parent-child to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Feb 1 priority (2025-26 cycle); rolling after | Full profile |
| The Hartsbrook SchoolWaldorf | Hadley | MA | Day | Parent-child to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| High Mowing SchoolWaldorf | Wilton | NH | Day and boarding | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Housatonic Valley Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Newtown | CT | Day | Parent-child and preschool to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Waldorf School at Moraine FarmWaldorf | Beverly | MA | Day | Nursery to 6 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling (applications open in October) | Full profile |
| The Waldorf School of LexingtonWaldorf | Lexington | MA | Day | Nursery to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Jan 30 regular, Nov 2 early (year not stated); rolling after | Full profile |
| Aurora Waldorf SchoolWaldorf · Experiential and outdoor | West Falls | NY | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Green Meadow Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Chestnut Ridge | NY | Day | Age 2 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 16 priority (2026-27 cycle); rolling | Full profile |
| Hawthorne Valley SchoolWaldorf | Ghent | NY | Day | Early childhood to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Rudolf Steiner SchoolWaldorf | New York | NY | Day | Nursery to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Waldorf School of Garden CityCollege preparatory · Waldorf | Garden City | NY | Day | Nursery to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 31 priority, Feb 28 standard (2026 dates, prior cycle); rolling after | Full profile |
| Waldorf School of PrincetonWaldorf | Princeton | NJ | Day | Early childhood to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Waldorf School of Saratoga SpringsWaldorf | Saratoga Springs | NY | Day | Early childhood (18 months) to 8 | 11 to 15 | Not stated by school | Rolling (open enrollment) | Full profile |
| Kimberton Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Kimberton | PA | Day | Parent-child, Preschool to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| River Valley Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Upper Black Eddy | PA | Day | Early childhood to 8 | 15 | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Susquehanna Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Marietta | PA | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Waldorf School of BaltimoreWaldorf · Experiential and outdoor | Baltimore | MD | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Waldorf School of PhiladelphiaWaldorf | Philadelphia | PA | Day | Early Childhood (13 months) to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling (apply Sep to Dec recommended) | Full profile |
| Waldorf School of PittsburghWaldorf · Arts focus | Pittsburgh | PA | Day | Early childhood to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Dec 31 (priority) | Full profile |
| Washington Waldorf SchoolWaldorf · Arts focus | Bethesda | MD | Day | Preschool to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Bright Water Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Seattle | WA | Day | Early childhood to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 15 (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Cedarwood Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Portland | OR | Day | PreK to 8 | 16 | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Davis Waldorf SchoolWaldorf · Nonsectarian | Davis | CA | Day | Parent-child and preschool to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Haleakala Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Kula | HI | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling (interviews Jan to Mar for fall) | Full profile |
| Honolulu Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Honolulu | HI | Day | Parent-Child, Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Olympia Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Olympia | WA | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Pasadena Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Altadena | CA | Day | Parent-Child and Preschool to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Seattle Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Seattle | WA | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 14, 2027 | Full profile |
| Waldorf School of the PeninsulaWaldorf | Los Altos | CA | Day | Nursery to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Waldorf School of San DiegoWaldorf | San Diego | CA | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 31 (2025-26 cycle, for placement priority) | Full profile |
| Academe of the OaksWaldorf · Global or international | Decatur | GA | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 12, 2027 | Full profile |
| Alabama Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Birmingham | AL | Day | Nursery to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Emerson Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Chapel Hill | NC | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling; applications open for 2026-27 and 2027-28 | Full profile |
| Linden Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Nashville | TN | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 5, 2027 (later applications on adjusted timeline) | Full profile |
| The Waldorf School of AtlantaWaldorf | Decatur | GA | Day | Early Childhood to 8 | 15 to 22 | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Chicago Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Chicago | IL | Day | Parent-child to 12 | Not stated | Varies by grade | Rolling (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| City of Lakes Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Minneapolis | MN | Day | Toddler to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Detroit Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Detroit | MI | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Rudolf Steiner School of Ann ArborWaldorf · Arts focus | Ann Arbor | MI | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Singing Cedars SchoolWaldorf · Experiential and outdoor | Fairfield | IA | Day | Nursery to 4 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling from Mar 3 (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Spring Garden Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Copley | OH | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 15 recommended; July 1 final (year not stated) | Full profile |
| The Waldorf School of St. LouisWaldorf | Webster Groves | MO | Day | Early childhood to grade school | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Austin Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Austin | TX | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Jan 23 priority, then rolling | Full profile |
| Tucson Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Tucson | AZ | Day | PreK to 8 (plus parent-child classes) | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Denver Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Denver | CO | Day | PreK to 12 | 20 | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Shining Mountain Waldorf SchoolWaldorf · Experiential and outdoor | Boulder | CO | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
Testing summarizes the rule for the main entry grades. Many schools test only some grades, so select a school for its full profile, including the complete testing policy, mission, signature programs, ratio, tuition, financial aid and the official pages we used. Deadlines are for fall 2027 entry unless another cycle is noted. Blank means the school does not publish that information.
Among the 5 Waldorf schools that publish an average class size, the median is 16 students.
36 of the 47 Waldorf schools in this list describe need-based financial aid on their own websites. Use the Financial aid filter to see them, along with merit scholarships and income-based tuition options.
In our database, the states with the most Waldorf schools are NY (6), PA (5) and MA (4).
Every school here is an accredited independent school whose own website describes it this way. We read each school’s admissions, tuition, about and affordability pages in September and October 2026 and did not use ranking or directory sites.
ConnectPrep helps families build balanced school lists, prepare applications and interviews, and get ready for the SSAT, ISEE and HSPT, online nationwide and in person in Connecticut, New York and New Jersey.
This list is drawn from ConnectPrep’s national database of accredited independent schools, built from the member directories of NAIS, TABS and the regional independent school associations. Each school’s testing policy, deadline, grades and tuition were read on its own admissions and tuition pages in September 2026, and a second pass in October 2026 recorded mission, approach, signature programs, class size, ratio, enrollment, founding year and financial aid from the school’s own about, academics and affordability pages. A school appears here only when its own website describes it this way. Directory and ranking sites were not used. Blank fields mean the school does not publish that information. See every school by region on our national private school requirements hub.
Have a correction? Email info@connectprep.com.
This is a ConnectPrep page. It is researched and published by ConnectPrep, an independent tutoring, test prep and admissions advising company based in Westport, Connecticut. ConnectPrep is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the schools listed, NAIS, TABS or the regional associations, The Enrollment Management Association (SSAT) or ERB (ISEE). Information is checked against official sources as of the date shown, but policies change, so always confirm details directly before you apply or register.