Testing, deadlines, tuition and aid for 75 accredited independent schools that offer a postgraduate year after high school.
A postgraduate year is a thirteenth year at a boarding or day school after high school graduation, often used to strengthen academics, mature before college or develop as an athlete. These 75 schools describe a PG program on their own websites.
| School ↕ | City ↕ | State ↕ | Type ↕ | Grades | Avg class ↕ | Testing ↕ | Deadline | Profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgton AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | North Bridgton | ME | Boarding | PG only | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Carrabassett Valley AcademyCollege preparatory · Athletics focus | Carrabassett Valley | ME | Day and boarding | 7 to 12, PG | 7 | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Chapel Hill-Chauncy Hall SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Waltham | MA | Day and boarding | 8 to 12, PG | 12 | Test optional | Jan 15 (year not stated); grade 8 rolling | Full profile |
| Cheshire AcademyCollege preparatory · International Baccalaureate | Cheshire | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 10 | Test optional | Jan 15 domestic (no year on page) | Full profile |
| Cushing AcademyPostgraduate year | Ashburnham | MA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 and PG | 12 | Test optional | Feb 1 (fall entry); Nov 15 (spring entry) | Full profile |
| The Ethel Walker SchoolPostgraduate year | Simsbury | CT | Day and boarding (girls) | 6 or 7 to 12, PG (site inconsistent) | Not stated | Test optional | Jan 15 (no year on page); Middle School ED Nov 20 | Full profile |
| Franklin AcademyLearning differences · Postgraduate year | East Haddam | CT | Day and boarding | 8 to PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| The Frederick Gunn SchoolPostgraduate year | Washington | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 12 | Test optional | Early Decision Dec 1, 2026; Regular Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| Fryeburg AcademyPostgraduate year | Fryeburg | ME | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Rolling | Full profile |
| Gould AcademyExperiential and outdoor · Postgraduate year | Bethel | ME | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 11 | Test optional | Feb 1 priority, then rolling (year not stated) | Full profile |
| Hebron AcademyPostgraduate year | Hebron | ME | Day and boarding | 6 to 12, PG | 12 to 16 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Holderness SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Holderness | NH | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Feb 1, 2027 (early decision Dec 1, 2026) | Full profile |
| The Hotchkiss SchoolPostgraduate year | Lakeville | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE required | Jan 15, 2027; decisions Mar 10, 2027 | Full profile |
| Hyde SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Bath | ME | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 12 | Test optional | Rolling | Full profile |
| Kent SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Kent | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Jan 15 (no year on page) | Full profile |
| Kents Hill SchoolPostgraduate year | Kents Hill | ME | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 10 | Varies by grade | Jan 15, 2027 (early decision Dec 15, 2026; then rolling) | Full profile |
| Kimball Union AcademyPostgraduate year | Meriden | NH | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 10 | SSAT or ISEE required | Feb 1, 2027 (ED Dec 1, 2026) | Full profile |
| The Loomis Chaffee SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Windsor | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 and PG | 11 | Test optional | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| Maine Central InstituteCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Pittsfield | ME | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Marianapolis Preparatory SchoolPostgraduate year · Faith: Catholic | Thompson | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 25, 2027 (early decision Dec 2, 2026; stated for 9th grade day students) | Full profile |
| Middlebridge SchoolCollege preparatory · Learning differences | Narragansett | RI | Day and boarding | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile | |
| Mt. Mansfield AcademyCollege preparatory · Athletics focus | Stowe | VT | Day and boarding | 8 to 12, PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Apr 1 | Full profile |
| New Hampton SchoolCollege preparatory · International Baccalaureate | New Hampton | NH | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 10 | Test optional | Feb 1 (ED Dec 1), 2026-27 cycle | Full profile |
| North Yarmouth AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Yarmouth | ME | Day and boarding | Toddler to 12, PG | 14 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Northfield Mount Hermon SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Mount Hermon | MA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 13 | Test optional | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| The Oxford AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Westbrook | CT | Boarding | 9 to PG | 1 | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Phillips AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Andover | MA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 and PG | 13 | SSAT or ISEE required | Feb 1, 2027 | Full profile |
| Phillips Exeter AcademyCollege preparatory · Harkness method | Exeter | NH | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 12 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| South Kent SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | South Kent | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE required | Jan 15, 2027; decisions Mar 10, 2027 | Full profile |
| St. Johnsbury AcademyPostgraduate year | St. Johnsbury | VT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 12 | Not stated by school | Rolling (day packets by Mar 15) | Full profile |
| St. Thomas More SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Oakdale | CT | Boarding | Not stated | Test optional | Not stated | Full profile | |
| Stoneleigh-Burnham SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Postgraduate year | Greenfield | MA | Day and boarding | 7 to 12, PG | 10 | Not stated by school | Feb 1 first round (2025-26 cycle); rolling after | Full profile |
| Stratton Mountain SchoolCollege preparatory · Athletics focus | Stratton Mountain | VT | Day and boarding | 7 to 12, PG | 10 | Not stated by school | Mar 15 priority, then rolling | Full profile |
| The Taft SchoolPostgraduate year | Watertown | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 11 | SSAT or ISEE required | Jan 15 (no year on page) | Full profile |
| Tilton SchoolPostgraduate year | Tilton | NH | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Feb 1, then rolling (EA Dec 19); cycle year not stated | Full profile |
| Tremont SchoolPostgraduate year | Concord | MA | Day | 6 to 12 and PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 1, 2027 priority, then rolling | Full profile |
| Vermont AcademyCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | Saxtons River | VT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 10 | Test optional | Feb 1, EA Jan 1, then rolling (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Walnut Hill School for the ArtsArts focus · Postgraduate year | Natick | MA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Feb 10, 2027 regular (early Dec 1, later May 3) | Full profile |
| Watkinson SchoolProgressive · Postgraduate year | Hartford | CT | Day | 6 to PG | 11 | Test optional | Feb 1 priority; Dec 1 early decision for grades 6 to 9 (year not stated) | Full profile |
| Wilbraham & Monson AcademyPostgraduate year · Global or international | Wilbraham | MA | Day and boarding | 6 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Feb 1 (year not stated) | Full profile |
| The Woodstock AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Woodstock | CT | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 and PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Worcester AcademyPostgraduate year | Worcester | MA | Day and boarding | 6 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Feb 1 (year not stated) | Full profile |
| The Beekman SchoolPostgraduate year | New York | NY | Day | High school | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Darrow SchoolLearning differences · Postgraduate year | New Lebanon | NY | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Hun School of PrincetonCollege preparatory · Harkness method | Princeton | NJ | Day and boarding (boarding in Upper School) | 6 to 12 | Not stated | Test optional | January 15 (all materials) | Full profile |
| The Knox SchoolPostgraduate year · Global or international | St. James | NY | Day and boarding | 6 to 12 and PG | 12 | Test optional | Jan 31 priority, then space permitting | Full profile |
| Millbrook SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Millbrook | NY | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 | 11 | Test optional | Jan 15, 2027 (ED Dec 4, 2026) | Full profile |
| New York Military AcademyCollege preparatory · Military | Cornwall-on-Hudson | NY | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Northwood SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Lake Placid | NY | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Jan 31 (year not stated) | Full profile |
| The Peddie SchoolPostgraduate year | Hightstown | NJ | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 and PG | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE required | January 15 (year not shown) | Full profile |
| The Storm King SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Cornwall-on-Hudson | NY | Day and boarding | 8 to 12, PG | 8 | Test optional | Jan 15 priority; rolling after | Full profile |
| Trinity-Pawling SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Pawling | NY | Day and boarding | 7 to 12 and PG | Not stated | Test optional | Feb 1 priority, then rolling (fall 2026 entry cycle) | Full profile |
| Fork Union Military AcademyCollege preparatory · Military | Fork Union | VA | Day and boarding | 7 to 12 and PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Hargrave Military AcademyCollege preparatory · Athletics focus | Chatham | VA | Day and boarding | 7 to 12 and PG | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| The Hill SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Pottstown | PA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 10 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Jan 31, 2027 | Full profile |
| Linden HallCollege preparatory · STEM focus | Lititz | PA | Day and boarding | 6 to 12 | Not stated | Test optional | Jan 15 (priority) | Full profile |
| Mercersburg AcademyCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | Mercersburg | PA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 12 | Varies by grade | Jan 15 | Full profile |
| Perkiomen SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Pennsburg | PA | Day and boarding | 6 to 12, PG | 12 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Feb 1 (priority, then rolling) | Full profile |
| The Phelps SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Malvern | PA | Day and boarding | 6 to 12, PG | 7 | Test optional | Rolling | Full profile |
| Randolph-Macon AcademyCollege preparatory · Military | Front Royal | VA | Day and boarding | Middle and upper school | 8 to 15 | No entrance test | Rolling with priority deadlines | Full profile |
| Wyoming SeminaryCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Kingston | PA | Day and boarding | PreK to 12, PG | Not stated | Test optional | Jan 15, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| Besant Hill School of Happy ValleyExperiential and outdoor · Arts focus | Ojai | CA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Idyllwild Arts AcademyArts focus · Postgraduate year | Idyllwild | CA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 15, 2027 (early decision Dec 1, 2026) | Full profile |
| Southwestern AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | San Marino | CA | Day and boarding | 6 to 12 | 8 | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| IMG AcademyAthletics focus · Postgraduate year | Bradenton | FL | Day and boarding | 6 to 12, PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling (opens Sep 1) | Full profile |
| McCallie SchoolCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Chattanooga | TN | Day and boarding | 6 to 12 | Not stated | Varies by grade | Dec 15, 2026 (day and boarding early); Feb 1, 2027 (boarding priority) | Full profile |
| Montverde AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Montverde | FL | Day and boarding | PreK3 to 12, PG | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Dec 31 (lower school only); no middle or upper school deadline posted | Full profile |
| Saddlebrook Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory · Athletics focus | Wesley Chapel | FL | Day and boarding | 3 to 12, PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Andrews Osborne AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Willoughby | OH | Day and boarding | PreK to 12, PG | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Feb 2 (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Iowa ConservatoryArts focus · Postgraduate year | Iowa City | IA | Day and boarding | 6 to 12 and postgraduate | 8 | No entrance test | Rolling (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Shattuck-St. Mary’s SchoolCollege preparatory · Athletics focus | Faribault | MN | Day and boarding | 6 to PG | 10 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Rolling | Full profile |
| St. John’s Northwestern AcademiesCollege preparatory · Military | Delafield | WI | Day and boarding | 7 to 12, PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Wayland AcademyCollege preparatory · Postgraduate year | Beaver Dam | WI | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 1 (year not stated) | Full profile |
| Marine Military AcademyCollege preparatory · Military | Harlingen | TX | Boarding | 7 to 12 and PG | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Wasatch AcademyCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | Mount Pleasant | UT | Day and boarding | 8 to 12, PG | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 2 then rolling (2026-27 cycle) | Full profile |
Testing summarizes the rule for the main entry grades. Many schools test only some grades, so select a school for its full profile, including the complete testing policy, mission, signature programs, ratio, tuition, financial aid and the official pages we used. Deadlines are for fall 2027 entry unless another cycle is noted. Blank means the school does not publish that information.
Among the 34 schools with a PG year that publish an average class size, the median is 11 students.
67 of the 75 schools with a PG year in this list describe need-based financial aid on their own websites. Use the Financial aid filter to see them, along with merit scholarships and income-based tuition options.
In our database, the states with the most schools with a PG year are CT (14), ME (9) and MA (9).
Every school here is an accredited independent school whose own website describes it this way. We read each school’s admissions, tuition, about and affordability pages in September and October 2026 and did not use ranking or directory sites.
ConnectPrep helps families build balanced school lists, prepare applications and interviews, and get ready for the SSAT, ISEE and HSPT, online nationwide and in person in Connecticut, New York and New Jersey.
This list is drawn from ConnectPrep’s national database of accredited independent schools, built from the member directories of NAIS, TABS and the regional independent school associations. Each school’s testing policy, deadline, grades and tuition were read on its own admissions and tuition pages in September 2026, and a second pass in October 2026 recorded mission, approach, signature programs, class size, ratio, enrollment, founding year and financial aid from the school’s own about, academics and affordability pages. A school appears here only when its own website describes it this way. Directory and ranking sites were not used. Blank fields mean the school does not publish that information. See every school by region on our national private school requirements hub.
Have a correction? Email info@connectprep.com.
This is a ConnectPrep page. It is researched and published by ConnectPrep, an independent tutoring, test prep and admissions advising company based in Westport, Connecticut. ConnectPrep is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the schools listed, NAIS, TABS or the regional associations, The Enrollment Management Association (SSAT) or ERB (ISEE). Information is checked against official sources as of the date shown, but policies change, so always confirm details directly before you apply or register.