ConnectPrep

A free resource from ConnectPrep · Book a free consultation

Private School Admissions Requirements: South Central and Southwest (Fall 2027)

SSAT, ISEE and HSPT requirements, fall 2027 deadlines, class sizes, financial aid, teaching approach and tuition for 176 independent day and boarding schools in Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico and Arizona.

Last verified: September 2026 · 176 schools · Checked on each school’s official admissions pages

Every independent school in the South Central and Southwest states, in one table

Each independent school sets its own testing rules, deadlines and tuition, and they change every year. This table covers the accredited independent schools in Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico and Arizona, from elementary and Montessori schools to day high schools and boarding schools, and shows what each school’s own admissions pages say for fall 2027 entry.

Filter by state, day or boarding, testing policy, teaching approach or affiliation, financial aid and class size. Open Details for each school’s mission, what sets it apart, signature programs, class size and ratio, financial aid, the full testing policy, entry grades, tuition and links to the official pages we used. See other regions on our national private school requirements hub.

At a glance: 9 schools require the SSAT or ISEE and 38 more require it for some grades, 0 are test optional and 9 have no entrance test. 52 schools do not state a testing policy on their websites, so ask their admissions office directly.
176 schools shownClick any column header to sort
School ↕ City ↕ State ↕ Type ↕ Grades Avg class ↕ Testing ↕ Deadline
Academy of the Sacred HeartGlobal or international · Faith: Catholic New Orleans LA Day Age 1 to 12 12 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 11, 2026
Akiba Yavneh AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Jewish Dallas TX Day Infant (3 months) to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Albuquerque AcademyCollege preparatory Albuquerque NM Day 6 to 12 15 School’s own assessment Feb 5, 2027 (early decision Nov 13, 2026)
Alcuin SchoolMontessori · International Baccalaureate Dallas TX Day Toddler (18 months) to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 22, 2027
Alexandria Country Day SchoolNonsectarian Alexandria LA Day PreK3 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
All Saints Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Beaumont TX Day PK3 to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
All Saints Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Tyler TX Day 3K to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
All Saints’ Episcopal Day SchoolFaith: Episcopal Phoenix AZ Day PreK to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 23, 2027
Allen AcademyExperiential and outdoor Bryan TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Priority Jan 29, 2027; then space available
Ann and Nate Levine AcademyFaith: Jewish Dallas TX Day Infant (3 months) to 8 12 School’s own assessment Jan 15, 2027 (priority)
Annunciation Orthodox SchoolFaith: Other Houston TX Day Delphi (age 2) to 8 Not stated Varies by grade Dec 1, 2026
The Anthony SchoolNonsectarian Little Rock AR Day PreK3 to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Arizona Jewish AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Jewish Scottsdale AZ Day Not stated Not stated by school Mar 8 (2025-26 cycle)
Ascension AcademyCollege preparatory Amarillo TX Day 5 to 12 (Montessori preschool from 2026-27) Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Ascension Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Lafayette LA Day PreK3 to 12 16 School’s own assessment Applications open Oct 9, 2026; contracts end of Jan
Austin International SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Bilingual or immersion Austin TX Day PreK3 to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Jan 8, 2027 (priority)
Austin Montessori SchoolMontessori Austin TX Day 16 months to age 15 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
Austin Waldorf SchoolWaldorf Austin TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated No entrance test Jan 23 priority, then rolling
The Awty International SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Bilingual or immersion Houston TX Day PreK3 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Nov 20, 2026 (grades 6 to 12); Oct 30, 2026 (PK3 to 5)
Bishop Seabury AcademyCollege preparatory Lawrence KS Day 6 to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Nov 15, 2026 (early enrollment); applications open Sept 15
Bosque SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Albuquerque NM Day 6 to 12 14 School’s own assessment Not stated
The Branch SchoolProject-based learning Houston TX Day PreK3 to 8 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Rolling
Brazos Christian SchoolCollege preparatory · Classical Bryan TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
The Briarwood SchoolLearning differences Houston TX Day K to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
The Brighton SchoolLearning differences Baton Rouge LA Day K to 12 (11 and 12 case by case) Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
The Brook Hill SchoolCollege preparatory · Global or international Bullard TX Day and boarding PreK to 12 (boarding 8 to 12) Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Round 1 Dec 10; rolling rounds to Sept 1
Brownell Talbot College Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory Omaha NE Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Casady SchoolCollege preparatory · Montessori Oklahoma City OK Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 15, 2027 (regular); early Dec 1, 2026
Cedar Creek School Ruston LA Day PreK to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Central Private SchoolCollege preparatory Baton Rouge LA Day PreK3 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 19 (early decision, 2026-27 cycle); rolling after
Christ Episcopal SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Episcopal Covington LA Day PreK to 12 14 School’s own assessment Dec 15 priority (2024-25 document)
Cistercian Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic Irving TX Day 5 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 15, 2027
The Clariden SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Project-based learning Southlake TX Day PreK to 12 11 School’s own assessment Jan 15, 2027
Clear Spring SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning Eureka Springs AR Day Pre-Primary to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Covenant School of DallasClassical · Faith: Christian Dallas TX Day K to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 15, 2027
Dallas Christian SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Mesquite TX Day PreK4 to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Dallas International SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Bilingual or immersion Dallas TX Day Age 2 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 29, 2027 (grades 1 to 12); Jan 25, 2027 (EC)
Duchesne Academy of the Sacred HeartFaith: Catholic Houston TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 15, 2026 (application); Jan 15, 2027 (testing and supplements)
The Dunham SchoolCollege preparatory · Harkness method Baton Rouge LA Day PreK2 to 12 14 to 16 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Nov 27, 2026 (priority); rolling after
Ecole Bilingue de la Nouvelle-OrleansBilingual or immersion · Global or international New Orleans LA Day 18 months to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Emery/Weiner SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Houston TX Day 6 to 12 14 SSAT or ISEE required Dec 14, 2026 (priority); materials Jan 15, 2027
Episcopal Collegiate SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Episcopal Little Rock AR Day PreK to 12 15 School’s own assessment Not stated
Episcopal High SchoolFaith: Episcopal Bellaire TX Day 9 to 12 14 SSAT or ISEE required Dec 4 (current cycle); scores and records Jan 15
Episcopal School of AcadianaFaith: Episcopal Cade LA Day PreK3 to 12 13 School’s own assessment Not stated
Episcopal School of Baton RougeCollege preparatory · Service learning Baton Rouge LA Day PreK3 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Nov 1, 2026 (first round)
The Episcopal School of DallasExperiential and outdoor · Service learning Dallas TX Day Age 3 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Division deadlines; ISEE by Feb 1, 2027
The Fay SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor Houston TX Day PreK3 to 5 18 Not stated by school Not stated
Fort Bend Christian AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Sugar Land TX Day PreK4 to 12 16 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 8, 2027 (priority)
Fort Worth AcademyProject-based learning Fort Worth TX Day K to 8 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Feb 12, 2027 (grades 1 to 8); Jan 15, 2027 (K)
Fort Worth Christian SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian North Richland Hills TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Nov 30, 2026 early decision (legacy/sibling families only)
Fort Worth Country DayCollege preparatory Fort Worth TX Day JK to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Galloway SchoolFaith: Christian Friendswood TX Day Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Girls’ School of Austin Austin TX Day K to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Feb 1 (first round)
Good Shepherd Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Dallas TX Day PreK to 8 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 8, 2027
Grace SchoolSTEM focus · Faith: Christian Houston TX Day Age 2 to 8 15 Not stated by school Jan 15, 2027 (priority)
Green Fields School Tucson AZ Day and boarding PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Greenhill SchoolNonsectarian Addison TX Day PreK to 12 16 to 18 SSAT or ISEE required Dec 11, 2026 (application); documents Jan 25, 2027
The Gregory School Tucson AZ Day 5 to 12 12 School’s own assessment Feb 1, 2027
Headwaters SchoolMontessori · International Baccalaureate Austin TX Day 18 months to 12 Not stated No entrance test Not stated
Heritage HallCollege preparatory · Service learning Oklahoma City OK Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling (recommended by Feb 1)
Hill Country Montessori SchoolMontessori Boerne TX Day Toddler to 8 Not stated No entrance test Not stated
Hill School of Fort WorthLearning differences Fort Worth TX Day K to 12 Not stated No entrance test Not stated
The Hockaday SchoolCollege preparatory Dallas TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 14, 2026 (application); Jan 29, 2027 (complete file)
Holland HallCollege preparatory · Faith: Episcopal Tulsa OK Day PreK to 12 13 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Not stated
Horizon AcademyLearning differences Roeland Park KS Day 1-8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Houston Christian High SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Houston TX Day 9 to 12 15 SSAT or ISEE required Dec 18, 2026
Hyman Brand Hebrew AcademyBilingual or immersion · Faith: Jewish Overland Park KS Day K to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
Imago Dei Middle SchoolFaith: Episcopal Tucson AZ Day 4 to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Independent SchoolCollege preparatory Wichita KS Day Age 6 weeks to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
International School of ArizonaBilingual or immersion · Global or international Scottsdale AZ Day 18 months to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
International School of TucsonBilingual or immersion · Global or international Tucson AZ Day Infant to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Isidore Newman SchoolCollege preparatory · Nonsectarian New Orleans LA Day Infant (6 weeks) to 12 15 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 1, 2026 (recommended)
Jewish Community Day School of Greater New OrleansFaith: Jewish Metairie LA Day Preschool to 7 Not stated Not stated by school Dec 31 (priority)
The John Cooper SchoolCollege preparatory · Nonsectarian The Woodlands TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 15, 2027
The Jones-Gordon SchoolLearning differences Paradise Valley AZ Day 1 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
The Kessler School Dallas TX Day Infant (3 months) to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Feb 5 (2026-27 cycle); space available after
Keystone SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor San Antonio TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Rolling (K and 9 scores due in January; notified late Jan)
Khan Lab School Wichita Wichita KS Day Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Kinkaid SchoolCollege preparatory Houston TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 2, 2026 (grades 1 to 12); Sep 18, 2026 (PreK and K)
Kirby Hall School Austin TX Day PreK4 to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Feb 1, 2027 (regular); early Nov 1, 2026
Lakehill Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory · Service learning Dallas TX Day K to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Jan 8, 2027
The Lamplighter School Dallas TX Day PreK to 4 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 11, 2026
Legacy Christian AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Frisco TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Little Rock Christian AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Little Rock AR Day K5 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Live Oak Classical SchoolClassical · Faith: Christian Waco TX Day JK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 15, 2027 (priority); Mar 12, 2027 (regular)
Logos Preparatory AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Sugar Land TX Day K to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Jan 15, 2027 (priority)
Louise S. McGehee SchoolNonsectarian New Orleans LA Day Infant to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Complete 2 weeks before Feb 23, 2027 notification
Magellan International SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Bilingual or immersion Austin TX Day PreK3 to 12 (12 added by fall 2027) Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Not stated
Manzano Day SchoolExperiential and outdoor Albuquerque NM Day PreK to 5 17 School’s own assessment Jan 4, 2027 (general pool); then rolling
Marine Military AcademyCollege preparatory · Military Harlingen TX Boarding 7 to 12 and PG Not stated No entrance test Rolling
Maur Hill-Mount AcademyCollege preparatory · Global or international Atchison KS Day and boarding 9 to 12 Not stated Varies by grade Rolling (day decisions Mar 1)
Menaul SchoolCollege preparatory · Global or international Albuquerque NM Day and boarding 6 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Metairie Park Country Day School Metairie LA Day Infant (6 weeks) to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 1, 2026
Monte Cassino SchoolFaith: Catholic Tulsa OK Day PreK3 to 8 17 School’s own assessment Round 1: Nov 1, 2026 (PreK to K), Dec 1, 2026 (1 to 4), Jan 1, 2027 (5 to 8); Round 2 Mar 1, 2027
The Montessori School of San AntonioMontessori San Antonio TX Day PreK (age 3) to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment February recommended, then rolling
Mount St. Mary AcademyCollege preparatory · Service learning Little Rock AR Day 9 to 12 Not stated HSPT or TACHS Rolling after Mar 1 (2025-26 cycle)
The New SchoolProject-based learning · STEM focus Fayetteville AR Day Age 1 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
New Way AcademyLearning differences Phoenix AZ Day K to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Northlake Christian SchoolCollege preparatory · Service learning Covington LA Day Infant (6 weeks) to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling (applications open Oct 1, 2026; enrollment opens Jan 30, 2027)
The Oakridge SchoolCollege preparatory Arlington TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Feb 1 priority (2026-27 cycle)
Pardes Jewish Day SchoolProject-based learning · Faith: Jewish Scottsdale AZ Day TK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Dec 15 (early decision, year not stated)
Parish Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Dallas TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 8, 2027
Parkview Baptist SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Baton Rouge LA Day Infant to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Phoenix Country Day School Paradise Valley AZ Day PreK to 12 16 Varies by grade Feb 1 (2027-28 entry)
The Post Oak SchoolMontessori · International Baccalaureate Houston TX Day Infant (14 months) to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Dec 18, 2026 (first round)
Presbyterian SchoolExperiential and outdoor · Service learning Houston TX Day PreK3 to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Dec 1, 2026
Preston Hollow Presbyterian SchoolLearning differences Dallas TX Day PK to 7 8 to 12 No entrance test Not stated
Pulaski AcademyNonsectarian Little Rock AR Day PreK to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Nov 2, 2026 (early application)
Rainard School for Gifted StudentsGifted and talented Houston TX Day PreK to 8 10 to 14 School’s own assessment Rolling
Rawson Saunders SchoolLearning differences Austin TX Day 1 to 8 Not stated No entrance test Rolling
Regents School of AustinClassical · Faith: Christian Austin TX Day K to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 1 (regular decision); rolling after Jan 2
Rio Grande School Santa Fe NM Day PreK to 6 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
River Oaks Baptist SchoolFaith: Christian Houston TX Day PreK to 8 18 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 1, 2026 (documents due Jan 15, 2027)
Riverfield Country Day SchoolReggio Emilia · Project-based learning Tulsa OK Day Infant/PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Saint Mary’s HallCollege preparatory San Antonio TX Day PreK (Montessori) to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 11, 2026 (grades 9 to 12); Mar 5, 2027 (1 to 8); Feb 5, 2027 (PreK, K)
Saint Thomas’ Episcopal SchoolClassical · Faith: Episcopal Houston TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 15 priority (most recent cycle posted)
San Antonio Academy San Antonio TX Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Sandia Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory Albuquerque NM Day 6 to 12 15 School’s own assessment Feb 12, 2027 (general pool); First Choice Nov 13, 2026
Santa Fe Girls’ School Santa Fe NM Day 6 to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Santa Fe Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory Santa Fe NM Day 7 to 12 14 School’s own assessment Feb 17, 2027
Schools of the Sacred Heart Grand CoteauFaith: Catholic Grand Coteau LA Day and boarding Age 1 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Second Baptist SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Houston TX Day PreK3 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 2, 2026 (Nov 2, 2026 for PreK3)
The Selwyn SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Argyle TX Day PreK3 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE required Not stated
Shelton SchoolLearning differences Dallas TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Southfield School Shreveport LA Day PreK2 to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Southwest Christian SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Fort Worth TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Feb 5, 2027 (grades 1 to 12); Jan 22, 2027 (PreK and K)
St. Andrew’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal New Orleans LA Day Age 12 months to 8 Not stated Varies by grade Dec 31 (first round)
St. Andrew’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Austin TX Day K to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 25 (2025-26 cycle)
St. Francis Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Houston TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 10 (files complete Jan 15), year not stated
St. James Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Corpus Christi TX Day Pre-Primary (age 2) to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
St. John’s Episcopal SchoolProject-based learning · Service learning Dallas TX Day PreK3 to 8 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 8, 2027 (grades 1 to 7); Dec 11, 2026 (PreK to K)
St. John’s SchoolCollege preparatory Houston TX Day K to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 4, 2026 (priority Nov 13, 2026) for grades 6 to 11
St. Joseph’s AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic Baton Rouge LA Day 9 to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Nov 20, 2026
St. Mark’s School of TexasCollege preparatory · Nonsectarian Dallas TX Day 1 to 12 15 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 8, 2027 (grades 5 to 11)
St. Martin’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Metairie LA Day Age 18 months to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Not stated
St. Mary’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Edmond OK Day Early childhood to 5 15 School’s own assessment Not stated
St. Michael’s Catholic AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic Austin TX Day PreK3 to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Feb 2 priority (2024-25 cycle)
St. Michael’s SchoolFaith: Episcopal Tucson AZ Day PreK to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 15, 2027
St. Paul’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal New Orleans LA Day Infant to 8 Not stated Varies by grade Not stated
St. Paul’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Waco TX Day Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
St. Philip’s School and Community CenterFaith: Episcopal Dallas TX Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
St. Stephen’s Episcopal SchoolService learning · Faith: Episcopal Austin TX Day and boarding 6 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE required Jan 20 priority, then rolling
St. Thomas High SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic Houston TX Day 9 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE required Jan 15, 2027 (materials by Jan 31, 2027)
Starpoint SchoolLearning differences Fort Worth TX Day Not stated No entrance test Not stated
Stuart Hall School for BoysFaith: Catholic New Orleans LA Day PreK3 to 7 18 Varies by grade Dec 11, 2026
Subiaco AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic Subiaco AR Day and boarding 7 to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
Thaden SchoolCollege preparatory Bentonville AR Day K to 12 15 Not stated by school Jan 10 (initial round, year not stated)
TMI EpiscopalCollege preparatory · Faith: Episcopal San Antonio TX Day and boarding 6 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE required Jan 29, 2027 (general); early action in Dec; rolling after
Topeka Collegiate SchoolCollege preparatory · Service learning Topeka KS Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Trinity Episcopal Day SchoolFaith: Episcopal Baton Rouge LA Day PreK3 to 5 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Trinity Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal New Orleans LA Day Age 12 months to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Dec 31 (first round)
Trinity Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal Galveston TX Day PK2 to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Trinity Episcopal SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor Victoria TX Day K3 to 8 16 School’s own assessment Not stated
Trinity SchoolLearning differences Oklahoma City OK Day Lower, middle and upper school (to 12) Not stated Not stated by school Rolling (2026-27 cycle open)
Trinity School of MidlandCollege preparatory · Service learning Midland TX Day PreK to 12 15 Varies by grade Not stated
Trinity Valley SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Fort Worth TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Feb 12, 2027 (grades 1 to 12); Jan 15, 2027 (PreK and K)
Tucson Hebrew AcademyBilingual or immersion · Faith: Jewish Tucson AZ Day K to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Tucson Waldorf SchoolWaldorf Tucson AZ Day PreK to 8 (plus parent-child classes) Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Tuttle SchoolLearning differences Houston TX Day Ages 5 to 25 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Urban Preparatory Academy WichitaCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Wichita KS Day K to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Ursuline AcademyCollege preparatory · Service learning New Orleans LA Day Nursery to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Dec 8 early (2025-26 cycle)
Ursuline Academy of DallasCollege preparatory · Global or international Dallas TX Day 9 to 12 15 to 18 SSAT or ISEE required Jan 8, 2027
UWC-USAInternational Baccalaureate · Experiential and outdoor Montezuma NM Boarding 11 to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Vanguard College Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory · Nonsectarian Waco TX Day 6 to 12 13 School’s own assessment Dec 31, 2026 (first round); rolling from Feb 1, 2027
Verde Valley SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Experiential and outdoor Sedona AZ Day and boarding 9 to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Jan 15 (year not stated)
Veritas Christian Academy of HoustonClassical · Faith: Christian Bellaire TX Day PreK to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
The Village SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · STEM focus Houston TX Day and boarding PreK2 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 15 priority, then rolling
Wesley Prep Dallas TX Day Age 12 months to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Westminster SchoolProgressive · Service learning Oklahoma City OK Day Preschool to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Westside Montessori SchoolMontessori Houston TX Day Toddler (18 months) to 6 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
White Rock Montessori SchoolMontessori · Experiential and outdoor Dallas TX Day Toddler (18 months) to 8 (age 15) Not stated No entrance test Not stated
Wichita Christian SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian Wichita Falls TX Day PreK to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Wichita Collegiate SchoolCollege preparatory · Nonsectarian Wichita KS Day Age 2 to 12 15 Varies by grade Not stated
The WIDE SchoolReggio Emilia · Project-based learning Missouri City TX Day Toddler to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Winston SchoolCollege preparatory · International Baccalaureate Dallas TX Day K to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
The Winston School San AntonioCollege preparatory · Learning differences San Antonio TX Day K to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling

Testing summarizes the rule for the main entry grades. Many schools test only some grades, so open Details for the full policy. Deadlines are for fall 2027 entry unless another cycle is noted. Tuition is the school’s published upper school rate for the year shown. Approach, class size, aid and mission come from each school’s own website; blank means the school does not publish it.

Quick answers

Do private schools in the South Central and Southwest states require the SSAT or ISEE?

Of the 124 schools in this table that state a testing policy, 9 require the SSAT or ISEE for their main entry grades and 38 more require it for some grades, 0 are test optional, 9 use no entrance test and 68 use their own assessment, the HSPT, or a policy that varies by grade. Many elementary and Montessori schools rely on visits and observations instead of a test.

Which boarding schools in the South Central and Southwest states are test optional?

There are 12 boarding or day and boarding schools in this table. None of the boarding schools here states a test optional policy. Boarding schools that require the SSAT or ISEE for at least some grades include The Brook Hill School, St. Stephen’s Episcopal School, TMI Episcopal and The Village School.

How much does private school cost in this region?

Among schools that post 2026-27 upper school day tuition, the median is $26,795. Most schools also offer need-based financial aid, and a few are tuition free.

When are applications due for fall 2027?

The most common deadlines among schools posting fall 2027 dates are Jan 15, Jan 8 and Dec 11, 2026. Many schools also accept rolling applications after the main deadline if seats remain. Check the Deadline column and each school’s admissions page.

Which Montessori schools are in the South Central and Southwest states?

9 schools in this table describe themselves as Montessori on their own websites, including Alcuin School, Austin Montessori School, Casady School, Headwaters School, Hill Country Montessori School and The Montessori School of San Antonio. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

Which private schools in the South Central and Southwest states serve students with learning differences?

14 schools in this table describe themselves as serving students with learning differences on their own websites, including The Briarwood School, The Brighton School, Hill School of Fort Worth, Horizon Academy, The Jones-Gordon School and New Way Academy. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

Which private schools in the South Central and Southwest states offer the International Baccalaureate?

12 schools in this table describe themselves as International Baccalaureate on their own websites, including Alcuin School, Austin International School, The Awty International School, The Clariden School, Dallas International School and Headwaters School. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

Which Waldorf schools are in the South Central and Southwest states?

2 schools in this table describe themselves as Waldorf on their own websites, including Austin Waldorf School and Tucson Waldorf School. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

How small are private school classes in the South Central and Southwest states?

Among the 37 schools that publish an average class size, the median is 15 students. Schools reporting some of the smallest classes include Preston Hollow Presbyterian School (8 to 12), The Clariden School (11), Academy of the Sacred Heart (12), Ann and Nate Levine Academy (12) and The Gregory School (12). Sort by the Avg class column to compare.

Which private schools in the South Central and Southwest states offer the most financial aid?

141 of the 176 schools in this table describe need-based financial aid on their own websites. The largest published annual aid budgets belong to Greenhill School ($6.6 million), St. Stephen’s Episcopal School ($6.6 million), St. John’s School ($5.3 million), Parish Episcopal School ($5.1 million) and The Episcopal School of Dallas (more than $5 million). Tuition free schools include Imago Dei Middle School. Use the Financial aid filter to find need-based, merit and income-based tuition options.

How was this list built?

We started from the member directories of the regional and national independent school associations and checked each school’s own admissions and tuition pages in September 2026. Schools we could not confirm on an official site are left out rather than guessed.

Applying to private or boarding school?

ConnectPrep helps families build school lists, prepare applications and interviews, and get ready for the SSAT, ISEE and HSPT, in person in Connecticut, New York and New Jersey and online nationwide.

Explore private school advising →

Methodology & sources

The school list comes from the member directories of NAIS and the regional independent school associations for Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico and Arizona, plus TABS for boarding schools. Each school’s testing policy, deadline, grades and tuition were then read on its own official admissions and tuition pages in September 2026, and a second pass in October 2026 recorded each school’s mission, teaching approach, signature programs, class size, ratio, enrollment, founding year and financial aid from its about, academics and affordability pages, and every row links to the page we used. Directory sites were not used as sources. When a school’s site does not state a policy, the table says so rather than guessing. Schools that have closed, and schools without a reachable official website, are left out.

Have a correction? Email info@connectprep.com.

ConnectPrep

This is a ConnectPrep page. It is researched and published by ConnectPrep, an independent tutoring, test prep and admissions advising company based in Westport, Connecticut. ConnectPrep is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the schools listed, NAIS, TABS or the regional associations, The Enrollment Management Association (SSAT) or ERB (ISEE). Information is checked against official sources as of the date shown, but policies change, so always confirm details directly before you apply or register.