224 accredited independent schools that are tuition free or set tuition by family income, checked on each school’s own website.
Most independent schools offer need-based aid, but these 224 go further: they are tuition free, or they use flexible, indexed, sliding scale or income-based tuition so each family’s price is set by what it can pay. Read each school’s affordability page for the exact model.
| School ↕ | City ↕ | State ↕ | Type ↕ | Grades | Avg class ↕ | Testing ↕ | Deadline | Profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adam J. Lewis Academy | Bridgeport | CT | Day | PreK3 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Bellesini AcademyFaith: Catholic | Lawrence | MA | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Mar 30 final, Jan 31 priority (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Chewonki (Maine Coast Semester)Experiential and outdoor | Wiscasset | ME | Boarding | 11 (semester program) | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Covenant Preparatory School | Hartford | CT | Day | 12 | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile | |
| The Derryfield School | Manchester | NH | Day | 6 to 12 | 16 | SSAT or ISEE required | Jan 15 priority, then rolling (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Douglass Ridley SchoolReggio Emilia | Boston | MA | Day | K to 6 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 15 (2025-26 cycle); still enrolling | Full profile |
| Esperanza AcademyFaith: Episcopal | Lawrence | MA | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | May 1 (2026 entry cycle) | Full profile |
| Friends AcademyProgressive | North Dartmouth | MA | Day | Early childhood (age 3) to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Gann AcademyFaith: Jewish | Waltham | MA | Day | 9 to 12 | 12.5 | No entrance test | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| Gould AcademyExperiential and outdoor · Postgraduate year | Bethel | ME | Day and boarding | 9 to 12, PG | 11 | Test optional | Feb 1 priority, then rolling (year not stated) | Full profile |
| Grace Academy | Hartford | CT | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Groton School | Groton | MA | Day and boarding | 8 to 12 | 11 | SSAT or ISEE required | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| The Hartsbrook SchoolWaldorf | Hadley | MA | Day | Parent-child to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Housatonic Valley Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Newtown | CT | Day | Parent-child and preschool to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Maimonides SchoolFaith: Jewish | Brookline | MA | Day | Early Childhood to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 1, 2027 | Full profile |
| Miss Hall’s SchoolCollege preparatory | Pittsfield | MA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Feb 1, 2027 (first round), then rolling | Full profile |
| Montessori School of Greater HartfordMontessori | West Hartford | CT | Day | Toddler to age 15 (15 months to 15 years) | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Montessori School of NorthamptonMontessori | Northampton | MA | Day | Toddler to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling from Jan 1 | Full profile |
| Montrose SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic | Medfield | MA | Day | 6 to 12 | 12 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Feb 1, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| Mother Caroline Academy and Education Center | Dorchester | MA | Day | 3 to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Nativity Preparatory School New BedfordNonsectarian | New Bedford | MA | Day | Middle school (5 to 8 per input) | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Nativity School of WorcesterFaith: Catholic | Worcester | MA | Day | 5 to 8 | 15 | Not stated by school | Feb 26, 2027 | Full profile |
| New England Jewish AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Jewish | West Hartford | CT | Day | PreK to 12 | 10 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Our Sisters’ SchoolNonsectarian | New Bedford | MA | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Riverbend SchoolMontessori | Natick | MA | Day | Toddler (18 months) to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Feb 1 K to 8, Dec 1 ages 18 months to 4 (priority, year not stated); rolling | Full profile |
| Saint Martin de Porres AcademyFaith: Catholic | New Haven | CT | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| San Miguel SchoolFaith: Catholic | Providence | RI | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| School OneProgressive | Providence | RI | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 1 (year not stated), then rolling | Full profile |
| Seven Acres MontessoriMontessori | Wilton | CT | Day | Toddler to Elementary (ages 14 months to 12) | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Solomon Schechter Day School of Greater BostonFaith: Jewish | Newton | MA | Day | Toddler to 8 | 15 | School’s own assessment | Feb 1, 2027; rolling after | Full profile |
| Solomon Schechter Day School of Greater HartfordReggio Emilia · Faith: Jewish | West Hartford | CT | Day | Early childhood to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| St. Michael’s Country Day School | Newport | RI | Day | Toddler to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 15 (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Striar Hebrew AcademyFaith: Jewish | Sharon | MA | Day | PreK to 5 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Urban Achievers SchoolAthletics focus | Dorchester | MA | Day | 9 to 14 | 12 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Vermont Commons School | South Burlington | VT | Day | 6 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Vineyard Montessori SchoolMontessori | Vineyard Haven | MA | Day | Infant to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Washington Montessori SchoolMontessori | New Preston | CT | Day | 18 months to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 30 (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Waterside School | Stamford | CT | Day | JK to 5 | 17 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Wooster SchoolCollege preparatory · Learning differences | Danbury | CT | Day | 5 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 1 of entry year expected; rolling after | Full profile |
| The Brearley SchoolNonsectarian | New York | NY | Day | K to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE required | Dec 1, 2026 | Full profile |
| The Caedmon SchoolProgressive · Montessori | New York | NY | Day | Age 2.8 to 5 | 12 to 20 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Co-op SchoolProgressive | Brooklyn | NY | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 8, 2027 | Full profile |
| Cristo Rey New York High SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic | New York | NY | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Dec 10, 2026 (priority) | Full profile |
| Greene Hill SchoolProgressive | Brooklyn | NY | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Hawthorne Valley SchoolWaldorf | Ghent | NY | Day | Early childhood to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| High Meadow SchoolProgressive · Experiential and outdoor | Stone Ridge | NY | Day | Nursery to 8 | 12.8 | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Horace Mann SchoolCollege preparatory | Bronx | NY | Day | Nursery (Threes) to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE required | Application form Nov 18, 2026; file complete Jan 8, 2027; interviews must be scheduled by Oct 15, 2026 to be guaranteed | Full profile |
| Joseph Kushner Hebrew AcademyFaith: Jewish | Livingston | NJ | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Manhattan Country SchoolProgressive | New York | NY | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Poughkeepsie Day SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | Poughkeepsie | NY | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Regis High SchoolFaith: Catholic | New York | NY | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | HSPT or TACHS | Nov 2, 2026 | Full profile |
| Waldorf School of PrincetonWaldorf | Princeton | NJ | Day | Early childhood to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Albert Einstein Academy | Wilmington | DE | Day | K to 6 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Anna Julia Cooper SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Richmond | VA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Online Nov to Feb; decisions in March; waitlist Mar to Oct | Full profile |
| Bishop John T. Walker School for BoysFaith: Episcopal | Washington | DC | Day | K to 5 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Boys Home of VirginiaExperiential and outdoor | Covington | VA | Boarding | 6 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| The Bryn Mawr School | Baltimore | MD | Day | Coed preschool to 12 (girls K to 12) | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Dec 15, 2026 | Full profile |
| Chatham HallCollege preparatory · Faith: Episcopal | Chatham | VA | Day and boarding | 9 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Feb 1 (early decision Dec 1); rolling after | Full profile |
| Church Farm SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Exton | PA | Day and boarding | 9-12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE required | Feb 1 (priority, year not stated); rolling to Jul 31 | Full profile |
| Eastern Mennonite SchoolCollege preparatory · Service learning | Harrisonburg | VA | Day | K to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Apr 15 final (Dec 31 for K) | Full profile |
| Erie Day School | Erie | PA | Day | Toddler to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Fredericksburg Academy | Fredericksburg | VA | Day | PK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Grace Episcopal Day SchoolReggio Emilia · Faith: Episcopal | Kensington | MD | Day | PreK (age 2) to 5 | 13 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Green Hedges SchoolMontessori | Vienna | VA | Day | Age 2 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 15 (rolling from April) | Full profile |
| Harford Day SchoolSTEM focus | Bel Air | MD | Day | Age 3 to 8 | 15 | School’s own assessment | Feb 1, 2027, then rolling | Full profile |
| Highland SchoolCollege preparatory | Warrenton | VA | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 31 (2025-26 cycle); rolling after | Full profile |
| The Linsly SchoolCollege preparatory | Wheeling | WV | Day and boarding | 5 to 12 | 10 | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Milton Hershey School | Hershey | PA | Boarding | PreK to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Mother Seton AcademyFaith: Catholic | Baltimore | MD | Day | 6 to 8 | 10 to 15 | School’s own assessment | Feb 1, 2027 | Full profile |
| Newtown Friends SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Faith: Quaker | Newtown | PA | Day | PreK to 8 | 14 | School’s own assessment | Jan 15 (fall 2026 cycle) | Full profile |
| North Cross SchoolCollege preparatory · Learning differences | Roanoke | VA | Day and boarding | PreK to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Revolution SchoolCollege preparatory · Project-based learning | Philadelphia | PA | Day | High school | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling until class is full | Full profile |
| San Miguel SchoolFaith: Catholic | Washington | DC | Day | 6 to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Sisters Academy of BaltimoreFaith: Catholic | Baltimore | MD | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 15 (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| St. Andrew’s SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Episcopal | Middletown | DE | Boarding | 9 to 12 | 10 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| St. James AcademyProject-based learning · Faith: Episcopal | Monkton | MD | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 8, 2027 | Full profile |
| St. James SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Philadelphia | PA | Day | Middle school | 18 to 20 | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| The Steward SchoolCollege preparatory | Richmond | VA | Day | JK to 12 | 12 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Jan 15 first round (2025-26 cycle); rolling after | Full profile |
| Valley School of Ligonier | Ligonier | PA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Ware AcademyCollege preparatory | Gloucester | VA | Day | PK4 to 8 | 18 | School’s own assessment | Rolling; Mar 1 encouraged | Full profile |
| Washington Jesuit AcademyFaith: Catholic | Washington | DC | Day | 4 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Washington School for GirlsFaith: Catholic | Washington | DC | Day | 3 to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling (typically closes by May) | Full profile |
| West Chester Friends SchoolFaith: Quaker | West Chester | PA | Day | Play School (age 3) to 5 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling (paperwork by early Dec recommended) | Full profile |
| All Saints Day SchoolProject-based learning · Faith: Episcopal | Carmel | CA | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 1, 2027 (priority); rolling after as space allows | Full profile |
| The Archer School for GirlsCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | Los Angeles | CA | Day | 6 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Dec 10, 2026 | Full profile |
| The Bay School of San FranciscoCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | San Francisco | CA | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Jan 5, 2027 | Full profile |
| The Berkeley SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | Berkeley | CA | Day | TK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 19 (2025-26 cycle, fall 2026 entry); rolling after | Full profile |
| Berkwood Hedge SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | Berkeley | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Jan 22, 2027 (early Dec 14, 2026) | Full profile |
| Black Pine Circle School | Berkeley | CA | Day | K to 8 | 20 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Blue Oak SchoolProgressive | Napa | CA | Day | TK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 31 (2026-27 cycle) | Full profile |
| Brandeis MarinProject-based learning · Service learning | San Rafael | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Nov 16, 2026 first round per site, then rolling | Full profile |
| Children’s Day School | San Francisco | CA | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 12, 2027 (Preschool, TK); Jan 19, 2027 (K to 8) | Full profile |
| Contra Costa Jewish Day SchoolService learning · Faith: Jewish | Lafayette | CA | Day | K to 8 | 18 to 22 | School’s own assessment | Jan 14, 2027 | Full profile |
| Gateway School | Santa Cruz | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Giddens SchoolProgressive | Seattle | WA | Day | Preschool to 5 | 15 to 18 | No entrance test | Feb 5, 2027 | Full profile |
| The Girls’ Middle SchoolProgressive | Palo Alto | CA | Day | 6 to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Jan 5, 2027 | Full profile |
| Hillbrook School | Los Gatos | CA | Day | JK to 12 | Not stated | Varies by grade | Not stated | Full profile |
| Hyla School | Bainbridge Island | WA | Day | 5 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Julia Morgan School for GirlsProgressive | Oakland | CA | Day | 6 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| La Scuola International SchoolReggio Emilia · International Baccalaureate | San Francisco | CA | Day | Preschool to 8 | 18 to 24 | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Lick-Wilmerding High SchoolService learning | San Francisco | CA | Day | 9 to 12 | 17 | No entrance test | Jan 5, 2027 | Full profile |
| Live Oak School | San Francisco | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 8, 2027 | Full profile |
| Marin Country Day SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor | Corte Madera | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 7, 2027 (K: Dec 27, 2026) | Full profile |
| Marin Horizon SchoolExperiential and outdoor | Mill Valley | CA | Day | Toddler to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 29, 2027 | Full profile |
| Marin Montessori SchoolMontessori | Corte Madera | CA | Day | Toddler to 9 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 29, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| Mark Day SchoolExperiential and outdoor | San Rafael | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| Mid-Peninsula High SchoolCollege preparatory | Menlo Park | CA | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 5, 2027 | Full profile |
| Millennium SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor | San Francisco | CA | Day | 6 to 8 | 15 | No entrance test | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| Mirman SchoolGifted and talented · Service learning | Los Angeles | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Dec 11, 2026 | Full profile |
| Mount Madonna SchoolExperiential and outdoor | Watsonville | CA | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Oakland Hebrew Day SchoolFaith: Jewish | Oakland | CA | Day | Bridge-K to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Pacific Northern Academy | Anchorage | AK | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Park Day SchoolProgressive · Service learning | Oakland | CA | Day | TK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 19, 2027 | Full profile |
| The Presentation SchoolNonsectarian | Sonoma | CA | Day | TK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 1, 2027 | Full profile |
| Presidio Hill SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | San Francisco | CA | Day | TK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 4, 2027 (TK-5); Feb 1, 2027 (6-8) | Full profile |
| Prospect Sierra School | El Cerrito | CA | Day | TK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 22, 2027 | Full profile |
| Qualia: The School for Deeper Learning | Calabasas | CA | Day | 5 to 12 | 7 | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Sage Hill SchoolCollege preparatory | Newport Coast | CA | Day | 7 to 12 | 14 | SSAT or ISEE required | Jan 31, 2027 | Full profile |
| Saint Andrew’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Saratoga | CA | Day | PreK to 8 | 19 | Not stated by school | Feb 1, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| San Domenico School | San Anselmo | CA | Day and boarding | K to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 15, 2027 (K to 8, 9 to 12 boarding); Jan 5, 2027 (9 to 12 day) | Full profile |
| San Francisco Friends SchoolProgressive · Service learning | San Francisco | CA | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Dec 18, 2026 (K); Jan 22, 2027 (Middle School) | Full profile |
| The San Francisco School | San Francisco | CA | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Sea Crest SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor | Half Moon Bay | CA | Day | Preschool (age 3) to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 30, 2027 (priority); rolling in limited grades | Full profile |
| Seattle Hebrew AcademyFaith: Jewish | Seattle | WA | Day | Early childhood to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Seattle Jewish Community SchoolProgressive · Faith: Jewish | Seattle | WA | Day | Not stated | No entrance test | Jan 15 (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile | |
| Sequoyah SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | Pasadena | CA | Day | K to 12 | Not stated | Test optional | Jan 15 (early Dec 15; year not stated) | Full profile |
| The Seven Hills SchoolReggio Emilia · Service learning | Walnut Creek | CA | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| Silicon Valley International SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Bilingual or immersion | Palo Alto | CA | Day | Preschool to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 13, 2027 | Full profile |
| St. Paul’s Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Oakland | CA | Day | K to 8 | 17 | School’s own assessment | Jan 19, 2027 | Full profile |
| Village SchoolService learning | Pacific Palisades | CA | Day | TK to 6 | Not stated | No entrance test | Dec 1, 2026 | Full profile |
| Walden SchoolProgressive | Pasadena | CA | Day | PreK to 6 | 19 | School’s own assessment | Jan 29, 2027 | Full profile |
| The Waverly School | Pasadena | CA | Day | Preschool to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Jan 19, 2027 (high school; early Dec 11, 2026) | Full profile |
| West Sound AcademyInternational Baccalaureate | Poulsbo | WA | Day | 6 to 12 | 12 | No entrance test | Feb 15 priority, then rolling | Full profile |
| Wildwood SchoolCollege preparatory · Progressive | Los Angeles | CA | Day | K to 12 | 11 to 20 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Dec 15, 2026 | Full profile |
| York SchoolCollege preparatory · STEM focus | Monterey | CA | Day | 8 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 1, 2027 priority; Dec 1, 2026 early | Full profile |
| Academy Prep Center of TampaCollege preparatory | Tampa | FL | Day | 5 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Advent Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Birmingham | AL | Day | JPK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Nov 20 priority, then rolling (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| All Saints’ Episcopal SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Morristown | TN | Day | PreK to 8 | 10 | No entrance test | Rolling until classes full (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Asheville Christian AcademyFaith: Christian | Swannanoa | NC | Day | Preschool to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Mar 1 early decision; Jun 30 regular (year not stated) | Full profile |
| Atlanta Jewish AcademyFaith: Jewish | Atlanta | GA | Day | Infants to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Augusta Preparatory Day SchoolCollege preparatory | Martinez | GA | Day | Age 2 to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Jan 29, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| Banner Lake Academy | Hobe Sound | FL | Day | K to 4 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Boyce L. Ansley School | Atlanta | GA | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Brookstone Schools of Mecklenburg CountyFaith: Christian | Charlotte | NC | Day | JK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | 2027-28 applications open Oct 15 | Full profile |
| The Burlington SchoolCollege preparatory · Progressive | Burlington | NC | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Canterbury SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Greensboro | NC | Day | Preschool to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 27, 2027 | Full profile |
| Community Day SchoolFaith: Jewish | Sarasota | FL | Day | Early Childhood to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Cristo Rey Atlanta Jesuit High SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic | Atlanta | GA | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 5, 2027 | Full profile |
| Cristo Rey Tampa Salesian High SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic | Tampa | FL | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Dec 4, 2026 (priority); rolling after | Full profile |
| Duke SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | Durham | NC | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Dec 3, 2026 (first round, PreK to 8) | Full profile |
| Episcopal Day SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Southern Pines | NC | Day | Preschool to 5 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 4, 2027 (Dec 10, 2026 siblings and church members) | Full profile |
| Episcopal School of KnoxvilleService learning · Faith: Episcopal | Knoxville | TN | Day | JK to 8 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Not stated | Full profile |
| Gaston Day SchoolCollege preparatory · Nonsectarian | Gastonia | NC | Day | Preschool to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Rolling | Full profile |
| Grandview Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory · Project-based learning | Boca Raton | FL | Day | Early Childhood to Upper School | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE required | May 1 (soft), Jul 15 (hard) | Full profile |
| High Point Friends SchoolProject-based learning · Faith: Quaker | High Point | NC | Day | Preschool (age 2) to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Mar 1 priority (2025-26 cycle), then rolling | Full profile |
| Hillel Academy of TampaFaith: Jewish | Tampa | FL | Day | Age 1 to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Hope Academy GSOFaith: Christian | Greensboro | NC | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Jackson Preparatory School | Flowood | MS | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Lerner Jewish Community Day SchoolFaith: Jewish | Durham | NC | Day | PreK to 5 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Louisville Collegiate School | Louisville | KY | Day | JK to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Dec 16, 2026 (priority); rolling after | Full profile |
| The Outdoor AcademyExperiential and outdoor | Pisgah Forest | NC | Boarding | 10 to 11 (semester program) | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Palisades Episcopal SchoolClassical · Faith: Episcopal | Charlotte | NC | Day | JK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling; applications open Sept 1 | Full profile |
| Piney Woods SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | Piney Woods | MS | Boarding | 9 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Presbyterian Day SchoolFaith: Christian | Memphis | TN | Day | PreK to 6 | 17 | School’s own assessment | Dec 1, 2026 priority | Full profile |
| Randolph SchoolLearning differences | Huntsville | AL | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Varies by grade | Jan 15 priority, then rolling | Full profile |
| Saint Edward’s SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Episcopal | Vero Beach | FL | Day | PK3 to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Jan 15, 2027 (K to 12); Dec 1, 2026 (PK3 to PK4) | Full profile |
| St. Agnes Academy-St. Dominic SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic | Memphis | TN | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Rolling | Full profile |
| The Stonehaven SchoolClassical · Faith: Christian | Marietta | GA | Day | K to 12 | Not stated | Varies by grade | Jan 29, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| Trinity Presbyterian SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian | Montgomery | AL | Day | K3 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Trinity School of Durham & Chapel HillClassical · Faith: Christian | Durham | NC | Day | TK to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Jan 8, 2027 | Full profile |
| Tuscaloosa AcademyCollege preparatory | Tuscaloosa | AL | Day | PK3 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 15, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| The Weber SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Jewish | Atlanta | GA | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Mar 1, 2027 | Full profile |
| Westchester Country Day School | High Point | NC | Day | PK to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Academy HighCollege preparatory | Champaign | IL | Day | 9 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Academy of the Sacred HeartCollege preparatory · Faith: Catholic | Bloomfield Hills | MI | Day | Infant to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Academy of the Sacred HeartFaith: Catholic | Saint Charles | MO | Day | PK3 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Alcuin Montessori SchoolMontessori · Learning differences | Oak Park | IL | Day | Infant (6 weeks) to 8 (age 14) | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Ann Arbor AcademyProject-based learning · Learning differences | Ann Arbor | MI | Day | K to 12, PG | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Bennett Day SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | Chicago | IL | Day | Age 2 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Dec 14, 2026 (priority) | Full profile |
| Bernard Zell Anshe Emet Day SchoolFaith: Jewish | Chicago | IL | Day | Nursery (age 3) to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Dec 14, 2026 (documents by Jan 8, 2027) | Full profile |
| Bethany Christian SchoolsExperiential and outdoor · Faith: Christian | Goshen | IN | Day | K to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Not stated | Full profile |
| Chicago Jewish Day SchoolFaith: Jewish | Chicago | IL | Day | JK to 8 | Not stated | No entrance test | Dec 31 (new students); Dec 4 (siblings) | Full profile |
| Chicago Waldorf SchoolWaldorf | Chicago | IL | Day | Parent-child to 12 | Not stated | Varies by grade | Rolling (2025-26 cycle) | Full profile |
| Columbia Independent SchoolCollege preparatory | Columbia | MO | Day | JK3 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Daycroft SchoolMontessori | Ann Arbor | MI | Day | Toddler to 6 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Emerson School | Ann Arbor | MI | Day | Young 5s to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling (fin aid Dec 15, 2026) | Full profile |
| Greenhills SchoolCollege preparatory | Ann Arbor | MI | Day | PreK to 12 | 16 | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Grade 6 ED Dec 4, 2026; K to 6 Jan 22, 2027; 7 to 12 Feb 11, 2027 | Full profile |
| Hawken SchoolCollege preparatory | Gates Mills | OH | Day and boarding | Toddler to 12 | 15 | Not stated by school | Jan 15, 2027 | Full profile |
| Marian Middle SchoolFaith: Catholic | Saint Louis | MO | Day | Middle school | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling (Meet Marian Days Oct to May) | Full profile |
| The Miami Valley SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | Dayton | OH | Day | JPK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 1 (year not stated), then rolling | Full profile |
| Milwaukee Montessori SchoolMontessori | Milwaukee | WI | Day | Toddler (18 months) to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Minnehaha AcademyCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian | Minneapolis | MN | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Varies by grade | Feb 19, 2027 priority | Full profile |
| Miriam School and Learning CenterLearning differences | St. Louis | MO | Day | K to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| Morgan Park AcademyCollege preparatory · Global or international | Chicago | IL | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Rolling (considered as space is available) | Full profile |
| Mounds Park AcademyCollege preparatory | Saint Paul | MN | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Feb 15, 2027 priority, then rolling | Full profile |
| New City SchoolService learning | Saint Louis | MO | Day | Age 3 to 6 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 29, 2027 | Full profile |
| The Oaks AcademyClassical · Faith: Christian | Indianapolis | IN | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Early Dec 1; Regular Mar 1, then rolling (year not stated) | Full profile |
| Old Trail SchoolExperiential and outdoor | Bath | OH | Day | Toddler to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Feb 1, 2027 (priority) | Full profile |
| The Orchard SchoolProgressive · Experiential and outdoor | Indianapolis | IN | Day | PreK (age 3) to 8 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Jan 31 (year not stated), then rolling | Full profile |
| Saint John’s Preparatory SchoolCollege preparatory · Global or international | Collegeville | MN | Day and boarding | 6 to 12 | 18 | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Saint Thomas AcademyCollege preparatory · Military | Mendota Heights | MN | Day | 6 to 12 | 15 | School’s own assessment | Not stated | Full profile |
| Solomon Schechter Day SchoolFaith: Jewish | Northbrook | IL | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Dec 1, 2026 | Full profile |
| University Lake SchoolCollege preparatory | Hartland | WI | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 29, 2027 | Full profile |
| Urban Community School | Cleveland | OH | Day | Infant to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Willowwind SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning | Iowa City | IA | Day | Preschool to 5 | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling | Full profile |
| All Saints’ Episcopal Day SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Phoenix | AZ | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 23, 2027 | Full profile |
| Fort Worth AcademyProject-based learning | Fort Worth | TX | Day | K to 8 | Not stated | SSAT or ISEE for some grades | Feb 12, 2027 (grades 1 to 8); Jan 15, 2027 (K) | Full profile |
| Houston Christian High SchoolCollege preparatory · Faith: Christian | Houston | TX | Day | 9 to 12 | 15 | SSAT or ISEE required | Dec 18, 2026 | Full profile |
| Imago Dei Middle SchoolFaith: Episcopal | Tucson | AZ | Day | 4 to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Schools of the Sacred Heart Grand CoteauFaith: Catholic | Grand Coteau | LA | Day and boarding | Age 1 to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| Southfield School | Shreveport | LA | Day | PreK2 to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Rolling | Full profile |
| St. Philip’s School and Community CenterFaith: Episcopal | Dallas | TX | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Thaden SchoolCollege preparatory | Bentonville | AR | Day | K to 12 | 15 | Not stated by school | Jan 10 (initial round, year not stated) | Full profile |
| Topeka Collegiate SchoolCollege preparatory · Service learning | Topeka | KS | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| Wichita Collegiate SchoolCollege preparatory · Nonsectarian | Wichita | KS | Day | Age 2 to 12 | 15 | Varies by grade | Not stated | Full profile |
| Denver Jewish Day SchoolFaith: Jewish | Denver | CO | Day | PreK to 12 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Feb 1, 2027 | Full profile |
| Eagle Rock School and Professional Development CenterExperiential and outdoor | Estes Park | CO | Boarding | High school (ages 15 to 17) | Not stated | No entrance test | Rolling (admits September and January) | Full profile |
| Evergreen Country Day SchoolExperiential and outdoor | Evergreen | CO | Day | Toddler to 8 | Not stated | School’s own assessment | Jan 15 (2026-27 cycle, priority) | Full profile |
| Friends School | Boulder | CO | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Rolling | Full profile |
| Jackson Hole Community SchoolExperiential and outdoor · Service learning | Jackson | WY | Day | 6 to 12 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Jan 30, 2027, then rolling | Full profile |
| The McClelland School | Pueblo | CO | Day | PreK to 8 | Not stated | Not stated by school | Not stated | Full profile |
| The Sage SchoolExperiential and outdoor | Hailey | ID | Day | 6 to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Mar 1, then rolling | Full profile |
| Steamboat Mountain SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor | Steamboat Springs | CO | Day and boarding | K to 12 | Not stated | No entrance test | Feb 8 priority, then rolling (2026-27 cycle) | Full profile |
| Vail Mountain SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor | Vail | CO | Day | K to 12 | Not stated | Test optional | Jan 31 priority, then rolling (2026-27 cycle) | Full profile |
Testing summarizes the rule for the main entry grades. Many schools test only some grades, so select a school for its full profile, including the complete testing policy, mission, signature programs, ratio, tuition, financial aid and the official pages we used. Deadlines are for fall 2027 entry unless another cycle is noted. Blank means the school does not publish that information.
Tuition free schools in this list include Bellesini Academy (Lawrence, MA), Covenant Preparatory School (Hartford, CT), Esperanza Academy (Lawrence, MA), Grace Academy (Hartford, CT), Groton School (Groton, MA), Mother Caroline Academy and Education Center (Dorchester, MA), Nativity Preparatory School New Bedford (New Bedford, MA), Nativity School of Worcester (Worcester, MA), Our Sisters’ School (New Bedford, MA), Saint Martin de Porres Academy (New Haven, CT), San Miguel School (Providence, RI) and Urban Achievers School (Dorchester, MA).
Among the 44 tuition free and income-based tuition schools that publish an average class size, the median is 15 students.
192 of the 224 tuition free and income-based tuition schools in this list describe need-based financial aid on their own websites. Use the Financial aid filter to see them, along with merit scholarships and income-based tuition options.
In our database, the states with the most tuition free and income-based tuition schools are CA (46), MA (20) and NC (14).
Every school here is an accredited independent school whose own website describes it this way. We read each school’s admissions, tuition, about and affordability pages in September and October 2026 and did not use ranking or directory sites.
ConnectPrep helps families build balanced school lists, prepare applications and interviews, and get ready for the SSAT, ISEE and HSPT, online nationwide and in person in Connecticut, New York and New Jersey.
This list is drawn from ConnectPrep’s national database of accredited independent schools, built from the member directories of NAIS, TABS and the regional independent school associations. Each school’s testing policy, deadline, grades and tuition were read on its own admissions and tuition pages in September 2026, and a second pass in October 2026 recorded mission, approach, signature programs, class size, ratio, enrollment, founding year and financial aid from the school’s own about, academics and affordability pages. A school appears here only when its own website describes it this way. Directory and ranking sites were not used. Blank fields mean the school does not publish that information. See every school by region on our national private school requirements hub.
Have a correction? Email info@connectprep.com.
This is a ConnectPrep page. It is researched and published by ConnectPrep, an independent tutoring, test prep and admissions advising company based in Westport, Connecticut. ConnectPrep is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the schools listed, NAIS, TABS or the regional associations, The Enrollment Management Association (SSAT) or ERB (ISEE). Information is checked against official sources as of the date shown, but policies change, so always confirm details directly before you apply or register.