ConnectPrep

A free resource from ConnectPrep · Book a free consultation

Private School Admissions Requirements: Mountain West (Fall 2027)

SSAT, ISEE and HSPT requirements, fall 2027 deadlines, class sizes, financial aid, teaching approach and tuition for 60 independent day and boarding schools in Colorado, Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Montana and Wyoming.

Last verified: September 2026 · 60 schools · Checked on each school’s official admissions pages

Every independent school in the Mountain West, in one table

Each independent school sets its own testing rules, deadlines and tuition, and they change every year. This table covers the accredited independent schools in Colorado, Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Montana and Wyoming, from elementary and Montessori schools to day high schools and boarding schools, and shows what each school’s own admissions pages say for fall 2027 entry.

Filter by state, day or boarding, testing policy, teaching approach or affiliation, financial aid and class size. Open Details for each school’s mission, what sets it apart, signature programs, class size and ratio, financial aid, the full testing policy, entry grades, tuition and links to the official pages we used. See other regions on our national private school requirements hub.

At a glance: 3 schools require the SSAT or ISEE and 7 more require it for some grades, 1 is test optional and 8 have no entrance test. 24 schools do not state a testing policy on their websites, so ask their admissions office directly.
60 schools shownClick any column header to sort
School ↕ City ↕ State ↕ Type ↕ Grades Avg class ↕ Testing ↕ Deadline
Adelson Educational CampusClassical · Faith: Jewish Las Vegas NV Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Not stated
The Alexander Dawson School at Rainbow MountainProject-based learning · Service learning Las Vegas NV Day PreK to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Alzar SchoolExperiential and outdoor · Global or international Cascade ID Boarding 10 to 11 (semester) Not stated Not stated by school Dec 15 priority; Feb 15 regular, then rolling
American Heritage SchoolFaith: Other American Fork UT Day K to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Aspen Academy Greenwood Village CO Day Preschool to 8 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 15, 2027
Aspen Country Day SchoolExperiential and outdoor Aspen CO Day PreK to 8 Not stated No entrance test Feb 1
Bixby SchoolProgressive Boulder CO Day Preschool to 5 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
Boulder Country Day School Boulder CO Day Preschool to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Bozeman Field SchoolExperiential and outdoor · Service learning Bozeman MT Day 9 to 12 6 to 8 Not stated by school Rolling
Colorado AcademyCollege preparatory · Global or international Denver CO Day PreK to 12 Not stated Varies by grade Jan 15, 2027
Colorado Rocky Mountain SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Carbondale CO Day and boarding 9 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE required Jan 15, 2027 (priority)
The Colorado Springs SchoolExperiential and outdoor Colorado Springs CO Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Dawson SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Lafayette CO Day K to 12 15 SSAT or ISEE for some grades Not stated
Denver AcademyExperiential and outdoor · Learning differences Denver CO Day 2 to 12 12 School’s own assessment Not stated
Denver Academy of TorahFaith: Jewish Denver CO Day K to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Denver Jewish Day SchoolFaith: Jewish Denver CO Day PreK to 12 Not stated School’s own assessment Feb 1, 2027
The Denver Waldorf SchoolWaldorf Denver CO Day PreK to 12 20 School’s own assessment Not stated
Eagle Rock School and Professional Development CenterExperiential and outdoor Estes Park CO Boarding High school (ages 15 to 17) Not stated No entrance test Rolling (admits September and January)
Escuela de GuadalupeBilingual or immersion · Faith: Catholic Denver CO Day PreK to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Not stated
Evergreen Country Day SchoolExperiential and outdoor Evergreen CO Day Toddler to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 15 (2026-27 cycle, priority)
Foothills School of Arts and SciencesProgressive · Reggio Emilia Boise ID Day PreK to 9 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling (2026-27 cycle)
Fountain Valley School of ColoradoExperiential and outdoor · Global or international Colorado Springs CO Day and boarding 9 to 12 up to 12 Not stated by school Dec 10 (early action); Feb 1 (regular)
Friends School Boulder CO Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
Graland Country Day SchoolService learning Denver CO Day Preschool to 8 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 6, 2027 (application); Jan 27, 2027 (documents)
Havern SchoolLearning differences Littleton CO Day K to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
Headwaters AcademyProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor Bozeman MT Day 6 to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
High Mountain InstituteExperiential and outdoor Leadville CO Boarding 11 to 12 (semester program) Not stated No entrance test Dec 15 (priority); Feb 15 (final)
International School of DenverInternational Baccalaureate · Bilingual or immersion Denver CO Day K1 (age 3) to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Jan 31, 2027
Jackson Hole Community SchoolExperiential and outdoor · Service learning Jackson WY Day 6 to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Jan 30, 2027, then rolling
Kent Denver SchoolGlobal or international Englewood CO Day 6 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE required Jan 25, 2027 (Jan 15 for siblings)
Lake Tahoe SchoolExperiential and outdoor Incline Village NV Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Rolling
The Learning Academy of Teton ValleyExperiential and outdoor Driggs ID Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
The Logan School for Creative LearningGifted and talented Denver CO Day K to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Jan 12, 2027
Mackintosh Academy (Boulder Campus)International Baccalaureate · Learning differences Boulder CO Day K to 8 Not stated Varies by grade Not stated
The McClelland School Pueblo CO Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
McGillis SchoolFaith: Jewish Salt Lake City UT Day K to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling (2027-28 applications open)
The Meadows School Las Vegas NV Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Jan 1, 2027
Missoula International SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Bilingual or immersion Missoula MT Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Feb 15, 2027, then rolling
The Montessori Academy of ColoradoMontessori Denver CO Day Infant to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling
Montessori School of DenverMontessori Denver CO Day Toddler to 8 Not stated No entrance test Jan 8, 2027 (priority)
Montessori School of EvergreenMontessori · Service learning Evergreen CO Day Toddler to 8 Not stated Varies by grade Not stated
Mountain Academy of Teton Science SchoolsExperiential and outdoor Jackson WY Day Toddler to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Jan 31 priority, then rolling
Nasri Academy for Gifted ChildrenGifted and talented Las Vegas NV Day PreK to 8 Not stated Varies by grade Rolling
Park City Day SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor Park City UT Day Toddler to 8 Not stated School’s own assessment Rolling from Mar 1
The Rivendell School of Northern ColoradoNonsectarian Fort Collins CO Day Preschool to 5 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Riverstone International SchoolInternational Baccalaureate · Experiential and outdoor Boise ID Day and boarding PreK to 12 Not stated No entrance test Rolling; Nov to Mar recommended (2026-27 cycle)
Rowland Hall Salt Lake City UT Day PreK to 12 15 Not stated by school Jan 29, 2027
Sage Ridge SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Reno NV Day 1 to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE required Rolling (year round)
The Sage SchoolExperiential and outdoor Hailey ID Day 6 to 12 Not stated No entrance test Mar 1, then rolling
Shining Mountain Waldorf SchoolWaldorf · Experiential and outdoor Boulder CO Day PreK to 12 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
St. Mary’s AcademyService learning · Faith: Catholic Englewood CO Day PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Dec 16, 2026 (high school); Jan 15, 2027 (middle school)
Stanley British Primary SchoolExperiential and outdoor Denver CO Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Steamboat Mountain SchoolProject-based learning · Experiential and outdoor Steamboat Springs CO Day and boarding K to 12 Not stated No entrance test Feb 8 priority, then rolling (2026-27 cycle)
Sun Valley Community SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Sun Valley ID Day and boarding PreK to 12 Not stated SSAT or ISEE for some grades Feb 12, 2027 (priority), then rolling
Sussex SchoolProgressive · Project-based learning Missoula MT Day K to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Feb 4 priority, then space available (2026-27 cycle)
Telluride Mountain SchoolExperiential and outdoor Telluride CO Day PreK to 8 Not stated Not stated by school Not stated
Temple Grandin SchoolLearning differences Boulder CO Day 6 to 12 4 to 8 No entrance test Rolling
Vail Mountain SchoolCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Vail CO Day K to 12 Not stated Test optional Jan 31 priority, then rolling (2026-27 cycle)
Wasatch AcademyCollege preparatory · Experiential and outdoor Mount Pleasant UT Day and boarding 8 to 12, PG Not stated Not stated by school Feb 2 then rolling (2026-27 cycle)
The Waterford School Sandy UT Day PreK to 12 16 School’s own assessment Jan 31, 2027

Testing summarizes the rule for the main entry grades. Many schools test only some grades, so open Details for the full policy. Deadlines are for fall 2027 entry unless another cycle is noted. Tuition is the school’s published upper school rate for the year shown. Approach, class size, aid and mission come from each school’s own website; blank means the school does not publish it.

Quick answers

Do private schools in the Mountain West require the SSAT or ISEE?

Of the 36 schools in this table that state a testing policy, 3 require the SSAT or ISEE for their main entry grades and 7 more require it for some grades, 1 is test optional, 8 use no entrance test and 17 use their own assessment, the HSPT, or a policy that varies by grade. Many elementary and Montessori schools rely on visits and observations instead of a test.

Which boarding schools in the Mountain West are test optional?

There are 9 boarding or day and boarding schools in this table. None of the boarding schools here states a test optional policy. Boarding schools that require the SSAT or ISEE for at least some grades include Colorado Rocky Mountain School and Sun Valley Community School.

How much does private school cost in this region?

Among schools that post 2026-27 upper school day tuition, the median is $32,919, and the median boarding charge is $75,225. Most schools also offer need-based financial aid, and a few are tuition free.

When are applications due for fall 2027?

The most common deadlines among schools posting fall 2027 dates are Jan 15, Jan 31 and Feb 1. Many schools also accept rolling applications after the main deadline if seats remain. Check the Deadline column and each school’s admissions page.

Which Montessori schools are in the Mountain West?

3 schools in this table describe themselves as Montessori on their own websites, including The Montessori Academy of Colorado, Montessori School of Denver and Montessori School of Evergreen. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

Which private schools in the Mountain West serve students with learning differences?

4 schools in this table describe themselves as serving students with learning differences on their own websites, including Denver Academy, Havern School, Mackintosh Academy (Boulder Campus) and Temple Grandin School. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

Which private schools in the Mountain West offer the International Baccalaureate?

4 schools in this table describe themselves as International Baccalaureate on their own websites, including International School of Denver, Mackintosh Academy (Boulder Campus), Missoula International School and Riverstone International School. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

Which Waldorf schools are in the Mountain West?

2 schools in this table describe themselves as Waldorf on their own websites, including The Denver Waldorf School and Shining Mountain Waldorf School. Use the Approach filter above to see all of them with their testing policy, class size and tuition.

How small are private school classes in the Mountain West?

Among the 8 schools that publish an average class size, the median is 13.5 students. Schools reporting some of the smallest classes include Temple Grandin School (4 to 8), Bozeman Field School (6 to 8), Denver Academy (12), Fountain Valley School of Colorado (up to 12) and Dawson School (15). Sort by the Avg class column to compare.

Which private schools in the Mountain West offer the most financial aid?

54 of the 60 schools in this table describe need-based financial aid on their own websites. The largest published annual aid budgets belong to Colorado Academy (over $6 million), Rowland Hall ($5.3 million), Kent Denver School ($5 million+), Fountain Valley School of Colorado ($3.5 million) and Graland Country Day School ($3.5 million). Tuition free schools include Eagle Rock School and Professional Development Center. Use the Financial aid filter to find need-based, merit and income-based tuition options.

How was this list built?

We started from the member directories of the regional and national independent school associations and checked each school’s own admissions and tuition pages in September 2026. Schools we could not confirm on an official site are left out rather than guessed.

Applying to private or boarding school?

ConnectPrep helps families build school lists, prepare applications and interviews, and get ready for the SSAT, ISEE and HSPT, in person in Connecticut, New York and New Jersey and online nationwide.

Explore private school advising →

Methodology & sources

The school list comes from the member directories of NAIS and the regional independent school associations for Colorado, Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Montana and Wyoming, plus TABS for boarding schools. Each school’s testing policy, deadline, grades and tuition were then read on its own official admissions and tuition pages in September 2026, and a second pass in October 2026 recorded each school’s mission, teaching approach, signature programs, class size, ratio, enrollment, founding year and financial aid from its about, academics and affordability pages, and every row links to the page we used. Directory sites were not used as sources. When a school’s site does not state a policy, the table says so rather than guessing. Schools that have closed, and schools without a reachable official website, are left out.

Have a correction? Email info@connectprep.com.

ConnectPrep

This is a ConnectPrep page. It is researched and published by ConnectPrep, an independent tutoring, test prep and admissions advising company based in Westport, Connecticut. ConnectPrep is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the schools listed, NAIS, TABS or the regional associations, The Enrollment Management Association (SSAT) or ERB (ISEE). Information is checked against official sources as of the date shown, but policies change, so always confirm details directly before you apply or register.